Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Theatre Information
Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia
Comprehensive list of background information regarding organizations, performers and more.
The Theatre Times
A global theatre portal with over 3,400 articles covering theatre in 90 countries and regions.
Performing Arts Collections
Performing Arts in the Library of Congress Digital Collections
Among the digital Performing Arts collections linked from this site are The New Deal Stage: Selections from the Federal Theatre Project, 1935-1939; and The American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920.
Glopad (Global Performing Arts Database)
Includes a multimedia, multilingual, Web-accessible database containing digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects (such as 3-D images) related to the performing arts from around the world.
Performing Arts in America: 1875-1923 (New York Public Library for the Performing Arts)
With visual and audio images drawn from the extensive archival collections at The Library, the site covers subjects from the Broadway theater and Tin Pan Alley to the art of dancer Loie Fuller and composer Charles Griffes.
The Samuel French Theater Collection at Amherst College
Collection includes Samuel French corporate history, (correspondence, ledgers, and press clippings); plays published by the Samuel French company; 20th century play manuscripts by authors under contract with the Samuel French Company; 19th and 20th century acting editions (primarily Augustin Daly and T. H. Lacy) and “sides” (i.e., sheets containing the lines and cues for a single theatrical role); musical scores and sheet music; and playbills, publicity materials, theatrical magazines, and performance documentation.
Historical Theater in Context
Database and imagebank comprising all aspects of 17th and 18th century French theatre.
Resources related to Ancient Greek and Roman drama, including an electronic journal, study area, and theater reviews.
English and Japanese translations of 13 Noh plays of the Medieval period, including technical term and glossary information.
Perseus Digital Library
A massive resource containing numerous texts from Ancient Greek and Roman drama, as well as more recent Western theatrical traditions.
Acting, Language, and Theatrical Training
Productions- Broadway and Beyond
Technical Theatre- Costumes, Sets, and Construction
The Costume Page
Over 1000 links on all aspects of costumes and costuming, from the classroom to the stage.
Elizabethan Costume Page
Extensive information resource detailing the rich variety of Elizabethan-era clothing, includes imagery, research, and do it yourself costume-making guides.
Joseph Urban Collection: New York Series
Model set images from early 20th century theatrical productions put on by Joseph Urban, including essays and bibliography relevant to the Columbia University collection.
The History of Costume by Braun & Schneider
An electronic reproduction of the 19th century work detailing costumes from across the globe in dozens of color plates.
Professional Organizations and Theatrical Directory Resources