Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship, Society and the Stage
This comprehensive collection makes available the Larpent collection of plays, as well as hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays.
Shakespeare in Performance
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
Victorian Popular Culture
An essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Consists of four components: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving pictures, optical entertainments & the advent of cinema. Includes full-text, full-color reproductions of books, ephemera, handbills, pamphlets, photos, posters, programs, scripts, and other types of materials. Coverage is most extensive for Great Britain; but there is also a fair range of materials for the U.S.A.
Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design.
The Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design is a valuable source of documentation on the history of theatre and is housed in The Rare Book and Manuscript Library. It is a rare collection of original materials on the theatre comprising over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in England and the United States. These materials include costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric.
Theatre Program collection, 1868-1989
Theatre programs dating from the late nineteenth to the late twentieth century and some concert programs from the same time period. Bulk are from Chicago and New York, with many from other cities in the U.S. and a smaller number from other countries. Also included are souvenir programs; most are for theatrical productions; some are autographed; most are not dated; and most have no geographical information. There are also three scrapbooks, ca. 1900-1910, containing theatre programs and clippings, primarily from Washington, D.C., and New York.
American Theatre: a chronicle of comedy and drama, 1930-1969 by
Call Number: MPAL Reference PN2266 B671996
Publication Date: 1996
Moving season by season and show by show, Bordman offers a witty, engagingly detailed chronicle of every Broadway production and major off-Broadway show during years when American theater reached adulthood both dramatically and psychologically.
See also American theatre : a chronicle of comedy and drama, 1869-1914 (PN2266 B671994) and American theatre : a chronicle of comedy and drama, 1914-1930 (PN2266 B671995)
Historical Dictionary of American Theater: Beginnings by
Call Number: MPAL Reference PN2266 .F57H5 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Historical Dictionary of American Theater: Beginnings covers the history of theater as well as the literature of America from 1538 to 1880. The years covered by this volume features the rise of the popular stage in American during the colonial era and the first century of the United States of America, with an emphasis on its practitioners, including such figures as Lewis Hallam, David Douglass, Mercy Otis Warren, Edwin Forrest, Charlotte Cushman, Joseph Jefferson, Ida Aldridge, Dion Boucicault, Edwin Booth, and many others. The Historical Dictionary of American Theater: Beginnings covers the history of early American Theatre through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1000 cross-referenced entries on actors and actresses, directors, playwrights, producers, genres, notable plays and theatres. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the early American Theater.
Historical Dictionary of American Theater: Modernism by
Call Number: MPAL Reference PN2266.3 .F57 2008
Publication Date: 2007
The fifty-year period from 1880 to 1929 is the richest era for theater in American history, certainly in the great number of plays produced and artists who contributed significantly, but also in the centrality of theater in the lives of Americans. As the impact of European modernism began to gradually seep into American theater during the 1880s and quite importantly in the 1890s, more traditional forms of theater gave way to futurism, symbolism, surrealism, and expressionism. American playwrights like Eugene O'Neill, George Kelly, Elmer Rice, Philip Barry, and George S. Kaufman ushered in the Golden Age of American drama. The Historical Dictionary of American Theater: Modernism focuses on legitimate drama, both as influenced by European modernism and as impacted by the popular entertainment that also enlivened the era. This is accomplished through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced entries on plays; music; playwrights; great performers like Maude Adams, Otis Skinner, Julia Marlowe, and E.H. Sothern; producers like David Belasco, Daniel Frohman, and Florenz Ziegfield; critics; architects; designers; and costumes.
American Theatre Companies, 1749-1887 by
Call Number: MPAL Reference PN2237 A447
3 volumes. Information about theatre companies listed chronologically and by state, with an index of personal names and play titles. Includes bibliographies for further reading.
American Theater Periodicals, 1798-1967 by
Call Number: Main Library: 016.7914 ST8A
Lists of theatrical magazines and periodicals published in the U.S., along with which libraries hold them. Arranged chronologically.
Annals of the New York Stage by
Call Number: Main Library Reference 792 OD2A1970
Comprehensive, 15-volume history of New York theatre, covering 1700 to 1894. With index.
The London Stage, 1890-1959 by
Call Number: MPAL Reference PN2596.L7 L663
A total of 16 volumes. Information from playbills, arranged chronologically with indexes in the final volume of each part of the series.
Also available online in the Eighteenth Century Drama (linked to the left).