General Journals
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals.
Industry-Specific Journals
Film Quarterly has published substantial, peer-reviewed writing on cinema and media for over sixty years, earning a reputation as one of the most authoritative academic film journals in the United States, as well as an important English-language voice of cinema studies abroad.
Journal of Popular Film and Television
The primary purpose of the Journal of Popular Film and Television is to provide a representative cross section of critical-cultural perspectives and to broaden the existing literature to include the “public visions” of popular filmmakers and television showrunners, economic and industrial factors, and an emphasis on the complex role of audiences in the development of film and television as art forms and wide-reaching sociocultural forces.
The Journal contains state-of-the-art technical papers and engineering reports; feature articles covering timely topics; pre and post reports of AES conventions and other society activities; news from AES sections around the world; Standards and Education Committee work membership news, new products, and newsworthy developments in the field of audio.
Tourism and Hospitality is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal on all aspects of tourism and hospitality, published quarterly online by MDPI [Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute]."
Annals of Tourism Research Empirical Insights
Annals of Tourism Research Empirical Insights is a gold open access social sciences journal focusing upon applied research in tourism.
Journal of Themed Experience and Attractions Studies
Journal of Themed Experience and Attractions Studies (JTEAS) is the first scholarly journal dedicated to research, scholarship and pedagogy in the academic disciplines relevant to the planning, design, operation, and analysis of themed experience and attractions.
"The Journal of Sports Analytics (JSA) aims to be the central forum for the discussion of practical applications of sports analytics research, serving team owners, general managers, coaches, fans, and academics. We invite analytical research on any single sport or across sports that seeks to improve our understanding of the game or strategies for improving a team or a league."
International Journal of Computer Science in Sport
"The International Journal of Computer Science in Sport (IJCSS) is published in association with the International Association of Computer Science in Sport (IACSS). It is a refereed electronic journal that is published biannually. Research results with an emphasis on the following topics regarding the application of Computer Science and Mathematics in supporting the development of theory and practice in sport."
Journal of Sports Science and Medicine
"Journal of Sports Science and Medicine (JSSM) is a nonprofit scientific electronic journal, publishing research and case studies, and review article in the fields of sports medicine and exercise sciences."
Journal of Applied Sports Management
"The Journal of Applied Sport Management (JASM), the official publication of the Applied Sport Management Association (ASMA), which aims to build strong connections between scholars studying sport and practitioners working in the sport industry."
Games and Culture: A Journal of Interactive Media
Games and Culture: A Journal of Interactive Media is an international journal that publishes innovative theoretical and empirical research about games and culture within interactive media. [...] Games and Culture's scope includes the socio-cultural, political, and economic dimensions of gaming from a wide variety of perspectives, including textual analysis, political economy, cultural studies, ethnography, critical race studies, gender studies, media studies, public policy, international relations, and communication studies.
Entertainment Computing publishes original, peer-reviewed research articles and serves as a forum for stimulating and disseminating innovative research ideas, emerging technologies, empirical investigations, state-of-the-art methods and tools in all aspects of digital entertainment, new media, entertainment computing, gaming, robotics, toys and applications among researchers, engineers, social scientists, artists and practitioners.
Game Studies is a non-profit, open-access, crossdisciplinary journal dedicated to games research, web-published several times a year.
Transactions of the Digital Games Research Association
Transactions of the Digital Games Research Association (ToDIGRA) is an international, open access, refereed, multidisciplinary journal dedicated to research on and practice in all aspects of games.
Curator: The Museum Journal provides a platform for museum professionals to explore, debate, and discuss the current practices, issues, and policies that museums are facing. As a museology and museum studies journal, it presents perspectives from global experts and practitioners on the cutting-edge of museum innovation and development.
Journal of Conservation and Museum Studies
The Journal of Conservation and Museum Studies is fully peer reviewed and Open Access. It contains research on conservation science, artefact studies, restoration, museum studies, environment studies, collection management and curation.
Museum Management and Curatorship
Museum Management and Curatorship (MMC) is a peer-reviewed, international journal for museum professionals, scholars, students, educators and consultants that examines current issues in depth, and provides up-to-date research, analysis and commentary on developments in museum practice.
PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art
Under continuous editorship since its founding in 1976, PAJ has been an influential voice in the arts for twenty-six years. Now in an updated format and design, PAJ offers extended coverage of the visual arts (such as video, installations, photography, and multimedia performance), in addition to reviews of new works in theatre, dance, film, and opera. Issues include artists' writings, essays, interviews and dialogues, historical documentation, performance texts and plays, reports on performance abroad, and book reviews.
Performing Arts Periodical Database
The database currently includes almost a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Books
-
Audience Sociology and Consumer Behavior in the Film Industry
by
ISBN: 9798369331057Publication Date: 2025-01-10With traditional media forms merging with emerging digital platforms, researchers and scholars face the daunting task of untangling the complex interplay between media consumption, cultural identities, and societal norms. Navigating this intricate terrain can be challenging, especially given the need for a cohesive research agenda. Audience Sociology and Consumer Behavior in the Film Industry offers a comprehensive and timely solution to address these challenges. This book critically examines existing research paradigms and proposes a fresh agenda for audience sociology, providing a roadmap for scholars and students. The book also explores the historical foundations of audience research and the transformative impact of cinema, television, and new media on cultural, sociological, and ethnic structures. Through a sociological lens, the book illuminates how viewing practices shape daily life, tastes, and cultural identities. It offers insights beyond traditional disciplinary boundaries, comprehensively exploring reception analysis, impact research, and the uses and gratifications theory. This book is designed for audience researchers, mass communication sociologists, and media analysts and is an indispensable resource. It equips readers with the tools they need to navigate the complexities of audience sociology in cinema and television by addressing critical issues such as consumer behavior in the movie industry and the transformation of film-watching practices. With its fresh perspective and innovative approach, this book will become a cornerstone in audience studies. -
Business and Entrepreneurship for Filmmakers
by
ISBN: 0429029713Publication Date: 2019-08-20This practical guide teaches readers the skills and business acumen required to build a career in the film industry from the ground up. While countless books and classes teach newcomers the creative aspects of the film industry, many fail to properly prepare readers for the reality of how to navigate a freelance film career today. From creating a business model, dealing with taxes and funding, finding and managing clients, networking, investing, cashflow, and planning for the long-term, Business and Entrepreneurship for Filmmakers provides real-world, pragmatic advice on navigating a freelance film career, whether you're a recent film school graduate looking to take the next step or a seasoned professional hoping to start a production company. Moreover, the skills taught here apply across the industry, from corporate media and commercials to music videos and feature films. Interviews with filmmakers, innovators, and business experts are included throughout the book to offer further expertise and examples.
-
Introduction to Music Publishing for Musicians
by
ISBN: 9781538153390Publication Date: 2021-06-03At a time when artists are independently releasing their own music and acting as their own self-publishers, there has never been a greater need for a simple and easy-to-read introduction to the business and creative aspects of music publishing for musicians. Written by two musicians and industry pros with decades of experience, Introduction to Music Publishing For Musicians is organized into seven clearly written sections that will help musicians save time and avoid getting screwed. Topics include the basics of copyrights, types of publishing income, publishing companies and types of deals, creative matters of music publishing, and things you need to know about music publishing's future.The book features: Short digestible chapters written in a conversational tone to keep artists focused Section-by-section FAQs that expand on key issues that musicians encounter today Boxed text stories featuring current events to emphasize key concepts Interviews with top beat makers, collaborators, and more to provide secrets of success A glossary to help you keep track of important publishing terms Publishing resources offering to help you place and promote your music Chapter quizzes and activity assignments to help measure your knowledge Bobby Borg and Michael Eames have created a compact, simple and easy-to-read overview of today's music publishing industry that caters to both students and musicians (songwriters, producers, beat makers, and more) who want quick, up-to-date, credible, and relatable information so that they can get back to doing what they like best: creating music! -
Music Law
by
ISBN: 1684676126Publication Date: 2020-12-14About the Book:This textbook is designed to inspire debate and discussion about the past, present, and future of the music industry--blending insights from legal, business, and policy perspectives. Students are introduced to the history of music as property in commerce; key technological and business milestones affecting all aspects of the creative process; legal protections for those who create music, those who own it, and those who want to use it; the competing (and recurring) policy debates from the past century that have influenced the way creative participants interact with one another; and the challenges and opportunities presented by the digital age.About the Authors:Julie Ross has been a full-time faculty member at Georgetown Law since 1998, where she has taught courses focusing on legal practice and music law. Her scholarship focuses on music copyright and writing pedagogy. She is a graduate of Hamilton College and Harvard Law School and clerked for the Honorable H. Lee Sarokin in New Jersey. Before moving to academia, she practiced as a litigator in Los Angeles.Michael Huppe is President & CEO of SoundExchange, an organization at the center of many legal, policy and technology issues confronting the modern music industry. With over 20 years in the industry, he has fought on behalf of artists, songwriters, labels, publishers, and studio producers. A graduate of the University of Virginia and Harvard Law School, he was originally a commercial litigator and now focuses on the business issues affecting creators, especially those relating to music and technology. -
Making It Happen
by
ISBN: 1000991938Publication Date: 2023-11-06Making It Happen is a comprehensive guide to navigating the modern music industry, that redefines what 'making it' means for musicians, and inspires and educates musicians on the different options for generating revenue from their art. This book offers theoretical and practical advice on making music, creating promotional content and embracing traditional and emerging social media platforms into your marketing strategies. Through interviews with music industry experts, readers can expect professional tips and advice, as well as clear instructions on how to build a dream team, make content, share that work and grow an audience to enable long-term business sustainability. In the modern music industry, having multiple revenue streams leads to a stable income. Making It Happen offers unique insights into the innovations and technologies available to contemporary music makers, making it essential reading for independent musicians, music business students, music producers and marketers. -
Production Management in Live Music
by
ISBN: 1003231349Publication Date: 2022-01-26Production Management in Live Music: Managing the Technical Side of Touring in Today's Music Industry is a handbook for the aspiring production manager looking to forge a career in the live music industry. This book outlines the role that a production manager performs and their key responsibilities, and takes the reader step by step through the entire process of preparing a show for a tour. From dealing with artists and management to hiring crew, from booking vendors and scheduling the day-to-day of a busy tour, this text covers everything that is needed to take the show into rehearsals and finally on the road. Every aspect of the job is covered, including the very important challenges that face today's industry in the realms of sustainability, inclusion, diversity and mental health. Whether the show be on a festival, in a small theatre or club, or in a modern arena, this book clearly lays out the tasks and challenges and offers practical solutions to ensure the smooth running of a live performance. Production Management in Live Music is written for students in stage and production management courses and emerging professionals working in live music touring.
-
Theme Park Fandom
by
ISBN: 9048532612Publication Date: 2020-02-17This book argues that serious study of theme parks and their adult fans has much to tell us about contemporary transmediality and convergence, themed and immersive spaces, and audience relationships with places of meaning.
-
International Sport Business Management
by
ISBN: 1003155871Publication Date: 2021-04-12This book showcases new research in sport business management around the world, offering a platform for the international exchange of ideas, best practices, and scientific inquiries in a globalized sport economy. Featuring work from leading sport management scholars from around the world - including North America, South America, Europe, Africa, and Asia - the book addresses a variety of global, regional, national, and community issues that are central to successful sport management. Combining both qualitative and quantitative studies, it explores key themes such as the emergent environment, managing change, organizational transformation, application of technology, marketing and promotion, and research protocols. New case studies cover topics such as entrepreneurship and innovation, sport broadcasting, digital technologies, youth and college sports, and the development of the sport management curriculum. International Sport Business Management is a fascinating reading for all students and scholars of sport management, sport business, and sport marketing, as well as for any professional working in the sport and leisure industries. -
Managing Global Sport Events
by
ISBN: 1802620419Publication Date: 2022-10-19Logistics are a critical element in the planning and realization of any large-scale event. Managing Global Sport Events: Logistics and Coordinationprovides a critical look behind the scenes of these large-scale sport events by combining the previously separate but inextricably bound areas of sport, logistics and coordination management. The coordination and logistics activities behind global sports events such as the Olympic Games or Formula 1 Championships are unparalleled, but have largely been ignored by scholars around the world. Managing Global Sport Eventspresents the latest developments in this intriguing area of study, offering insights from a team of experts across sport, event, and logistics management. This first volume of the ground-breaking Sports Managementseries enters unchartered territory and advances our inter-disciplinary knowledge across sport, event and logistics studies, informing both contemporary sport management theory and practice. -
The Economic Impact of Sports Facilities, Franchises, and Events
by
ISBN: 9783031392474Publication Date: 2023-10-11This edited volume discusses the economic impact of sports facilities, franchises, and events on local economies. Written in honor of Robert Baade upon his retirement, the book provides a state-of-the-art of current research on the economic impact of sports, and recognizes the seminal contributions that Dr. Baade has made to this topic. The analysis of the economic impact of spectator sports is a vital public policy topic as $75 billion has been spent on stadium construction since 1990 in the US alone, with nearly $35 billion of this coming from taxpayer subsidies. True public cost of sports franchises is much higher than this as this figure excludes facilities outside the Big 5 domestic leagues (like NASCAR track, NCAA facilities, minor league baseball, and the Canadian Football Leagues), public subsidies for major events like the Super Bowl or Olympic Games, and excludes sports subsidies outside of direct stadium construction subsidies. Including contributions from many of the most notable researchers studying the economic impact of sports, topics include impacts of stadiums and franchises on local economies, labor markets, and tax collections, the effect of sports franchises on property values, and changes in the public and academic discourse on sports subsidies over time. This volume will be of interest to researchers and students of sports economics, management, public policy, and public finance. -
Contemporary Sport Management
by
ISBN: 9781718202993Publication Date: 2021-08-04Keeping pace with the rapidly evolving field of sport management, Contemporary Sport Management, the authoritative introductory text in the field, returns with a thoroughly updated seventh edition. Over 50 contributors with a diverse array of cultural and educational backgrounds deliver a complete and contemporary overview of the field, presented in full color for a visually engaging read. With a simplified structure to reflect current demands of the profession and addressing all the Common Professional Component topics outlined by the Commission on Sport Management Accreditation (COSMA), Contemporary Sport Management, Seventh Edition With HKPropel Access, is organized into three parts. Part I, Introduction to Sport Management, provides an overview of the field and leadership concepts associated with it. Part II, Sport Management Sites, details the major settings in which many sport management careers are carried out, including new content on sport participation across the life span. In part III, Sport Management Functions, readers will learn about the key functional areas of sport management, including sport marketing, sport communication, sport facility and event management, and more, with new content on sales as a career path. New and updated content throughout this edition allows students to stay on the leading edge of the field: Discussion of the evolution of esports, fantasy sports, and sport betting Content covering emerging technologies in sport management, including streaming, artificial intelligence (AI), augmented reality (AR), and virtual reality (VR) New case study sidebars with short-answer questions Recommended Case Studies in Sport Management journal articles for each chapter, designed to promote critical thinking and demonstrate understanding of chapter content Related student learning activities and recommended articles are now delivered through HKPropel. These supplemental materials are designed to increase student engagement and enhance understanding of chapter content. With more than 200 activities, including comprehension activities, web activities, and Day in the Life activities tied to professional profiles, students will be challenged to think critically about sport management as both a field of study and a vibrant professional environment with a variety of career paths, and they will develop insight into issues they will encounter in their careers. Chapter quizzes are also included and can be assigned by instructors. Contemporary Sport Management, Seventh Edition, will broaden students' understanding of sport management issues, emphasizing critical thinking, ethics, and diversity while providing students with an introduction to all the aspects of the field they need to know as they prepare to enter the profession. Note: A code for accessing HKPropel is included with all new print books.
-
They Create Worlds
by
ISBN: 9780429752612Publication Date: 2019-11-19They Create Worlds: The Story of the People and Companies That Shaped the Video Game Industry, Vol. 1 is the first in a three-volume set that provides an in-depth analysis of the creation and evolution of the video game industry. Beginning with the advent of computers in the mid-20th century, Alexander Smith's text comprehensively highlights and examines individuals, companies, and market forces that have shaped the development of the video game industry around the world. Volume one, places an emphasis on the emerging ideas, concepts, and games developed from the commencement of the budding video game art form in the 1950s and 1960s through the first commercial activity in the 1970s and early 1980s. They Create Worlds aims to build a new foundation upon which future scholars and the video game industry itself can chart new paths. Key Features: The most in-depth examination of the video game industry ever written, They Create Worlds charts the technological breakthroughs, design decisions, and market forces in the United States, Europe, and East Asia that birthed a $100 billion industry. The books derive their information from rare primary sources such as little-studied trade publications, personal papers collections, and oral history interviews with designers and executives, many of whom have never told their stories before. Spread over three volumes, They Create Worlds focuses on the creative designers, shrewd marketers, and innovative companies that have shaped video games from their earliest days as a novelty attraction to their current status as the most important entertainment medium of the 21st Century. The books examine the formation of the video game industry in a clear narrative style that will make them useful as teaching aids in classes on the history of game design and economics, but they are not being written specifically as instructional books and can be enjoyed by anyone with a passion for video game history. -
Game Production Studies
by
ISBN: 9463725431Publication Date: 2021-03-18Video games have entered the cultural mainstream and now rival established forms of entertainment such as film or television in terms of economic profits. As careers in video game development become more common, so do the stories about precarious working conditions and structural inequalities within the industry. In Game Production Studies, an international group of researchers takes a closer look at the everyday realities of video game production, ranging from commercial studios to independent creators. Across sixteen chapters, the authors deal with issues related to labour, production routines, or monetization, as well as local specificities. As the first edited collection dedicated solely to video game production, this volume provides a timely resource for anyone interested in how games are made and at what cost. -
One up: creativity, competition, and the global business of video games
by
ISBN: 9780231552219Publication Date: 2020What explains the massive worldwide success of video games such as Fortnite, Minecraft, and Pokémon Go? Game companies look unconventional—and are often ignored—from the standpoint of traditional business strategy. Yet they have thrived in the face of digitalization, generating billions in revenue through business models such as offering content for free in order to build market share and draw in customers.One Up offers a pioneering empirical analysis of innovation and strategy in the video games industry to explain how it has gone from the fringe to the mainstream. Drawing on almost twenty years of practical and academic experience in the interactive entertainment field, Joost van Dreunen analyzes how business model innovation has made the video game industry what it is today. Covering more than three decades of industry data, he demonstrates that video game companies flourish when they bring the same level of creativity to business strategy as they do to game design. Filled with case studies of companies such as Activision Blizzard, Apple, Electronic Arts, Epic Games, Microsoft, Nexon, Sony, Take-Two Interactive, Tencent, and Valve, this book reveals how the emergence of digital and mobile gaming can make us rethink traditional product-based strategies. One Up is required reading for investors, strategic decision makers, creatives, and anyone looking to learn about the major drivers of change and growth in contemporary entertainment. -
The video games textbook: history, business, technology
by
ISBN: 9781000868227Publication Date: 2023The Video Games Textbook takes the history of video games to the next level. Coverage includes every major video game console, handheld system, and game-changing personal computer, as well as a look at the business, technology, and people behind the games. Chapters feature objectives and key terms, illustrative timelines, color images, and graphs in addition to the technical specifications and key titles for each platform. Every chapter is a journey into a different segment of gaming, where readers emerge with a clear picture of how video games evolved, why the platforms succeeded or failed, and the impact they had on the industry and culture. Written to capture the attention and interest of students from around the world, this newly revised Second Edition also serves as a go-to handbook for any video game enthusiast. This edition features new content in every chapter, including color timelines, sections on color theory and lighting, the NEC PC-98 series, MSX series, Amstrad CPC, Sinclair ZX Spectrum, Milton Bradley Microvision, Nintendo Game & Watch, gender issues, PEGI and CERO rating systems, and new Pro Files and quiz questions, plus expanded coverage on PC and mobile gaming, virtual reality, Valve Steam Deck, Nintendo Switch, Xbox Series X S, and PlayStation 5. Key Features Explores the history, business, and technology of video games, including social, political, and economic motivations Facilitates learning with clear objectives, key terms, illustrative timelines, color images, tables, and graphs Highlights the technical specifications and key titles of all major game consoles, handhelds, personal computers, and mobile platforms Reinforces material with market summaries and reviews of breakthroughs and trends, as well as end-of-chapter activities and quizzes
-
Museum Management
by
ISBN: 9783030820275Publication Date: 2021-11-12This book centers on museum management with particular focus on risk management. It sees the museum as a modern institution that, in addition to its classical heritage function (collections management), also provides an educational function and implements this education through experience (the experiential function of the museum). It represents a combination of academic excellence and experience from real managers from museums and other public institutions. Additional topics such as strategic and operational museum management and museum research management are discussed and case studies from daily management practice are included. -
The Digital Future of Museums
by
ISBN: 0429491573Publication Date: 2020-02-19The Digital Future of Museums: Conversations and Provocations argues that museums today can neither ignore the importance of digital technologies when engaging their communities, nor fail to address the broader social, economic and cultural changes that shape their digital offerings. Through moderated conversations with respected and inf luential museum practitioners, thinkers and experts in related fields, this book explores the role of digital technology in contemporary museum practice within Europe, the U.S., Australasia and Asia. It offers provocations and reflections about effective practice that will help prepare today's museums for tomorrow, culminating in a set of competing possible visions for the future of the museum sector. The Digital Future of Museums is essential reading for museum studies students and those who teach or write about the museum sector. It will also be of interest to those who work in, for, and with museums, as well as practitioners working in galleries, archives and libraries. -
The museum manager's compendium: 101 essential tools and resources
by
ISBN: 1442271396Publication Date: 2017The Museum Manager's Compendium: 101 Essential Tools and Resources is a treasure trove of definitions, processes, menus, samples and categories that distill half a century of museum experience by many museum innovators. It is a must-own reference book for every museum manager and planner responsible for decisions.
-
Blue-Collar Broadway
by
ISBN: 9780812246629Publication Date: 2014-12-10Behind the scenes of New York City's Great White Way, virtuosos of stagecraft have built the scenery, costumes, lights, and other components of theatrical productions for more than a hundred years. But like a good magician who refuses to reveal secrets, they have left few clues about their work. Blue-Collar Broadway recovers the history of those people and the neighborhood in which their undersung labor occurred. Timothy R. White begins his history of the theater industry with the dispersed pre-Broadway era, when components such as costumes, lights, and scenery were built and stored nationwide. Subsequently, the majority of backstage operations and storage were consolidated in New York City during what is now known as the golden age of musical theater. Toward the latter half of the twentieth century, decentralization and deindustrialization brought the emergence of nationally distributed regional theaters and performing arts centers. The resulting collapse of New York's theater craft economy rocked the theater district, leaving abandoned buildings and criminal activity in place of studios and workshops. But new technologies ushered in a new age of tourism and business for the area. The Broadway we know today is a global destination and a glittering showroom for vetted products. Featuring case studies of iconic productions such as Oklahoma! (1943) and Evita (1979), and an exploration of the craftwork of radio, television, and film production around Times Square, Blue-Collar Broadway tells a rich story of the history of craft and industry in American theater nationwide. In addition, White examines the role of theater in urban deindustrialization and in the revival of downtowns throughout the Sunbelt. -
TikTok Broadway
by
ISBN: 0197743676Publication Date: 2024-07-23Are you a musical theatre fan who loves TikTok? Or are you curious about how this social media app has changed musical theatre fandom - and even the concept of the musical itself? TikTok Broadway: Musical Theatre Fandom in the Digital Age takes readers inside the world of TikTok Broadway, where fans create, expand, and canonize musical theatre through viral videos. It argues that TikTok democratizes musical theatre fan cultures and spaces, creating a new canon of musical theatre that reflects the preferences and passions of the fans. Readers will also see how TikTok Broadway influences other aspects of U.S. popular culture, from Broadway shows to TV adaptations. From Six and Beetlejuice to Wicked and Ratatouille: The TikTok Musical, this book covers the most popular and innovative musical theatre content on TikTok. Author Trevor Boffone, a musical theatre scholar and a TikTok creator, shows how fans use the app to express their love for musical theatre, and how they collaborate to produce original works, such as Bridgerton: The Musical. TikTok Broadway: Musical Theatre Fandom in the Digital Age shows how the app puts power in the hands of the fans. -
Concert Design
by
ISBN: 9781315145600Publication Date: 2020-02-25Concert Design: The Road, The Craft, The Industry offers an exceptional journey though the world of concert design, exploring not only its unique design attributes but also the industry that has grown around it and how to make a career of 'the road'. Concert designer Seth Jackson analyzes how the industry has changed over the last three decades - from its early days of 'no rules' and 'cowboys' to a thriving and growing industry with countless career opportunities. Drawing on 25 years of experience and clients ranging from Carrie Underwood to Don Henley, he explores design techniques, working with Artists and directors, the rigors of concert touring, and navigating a career path through a challenging industry. The book also includes stories from numerous industry luminaries such as Steve Cohen, Jeff Ravitz, Eric Loader, Howard Ungerleider, and Jim Lenahan, along with Jackson's own experiences. Written for aspiring concert lighting designers and students of Concert Lighting and Theatre Lighting courses, Concert Design is an excellent resource for anyone who has ever wondered what backstage life is really all about.
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail bis@library.illinois.edu.
