Data & Statistics
Provides top ten lists of tv, advertising, movies, video games, and broadcasting.
Filter to see rankings of TV, movies, and more.
Provides yearly reports about media and technology. The reports are also broken down into chapters based on topic.
See domestic, international, and worldwide box office data.
Large collection of data on box office numbers, franchises, and more. You can use the Research Tools tab to build reports or compare movie statistics.
Research Institutes
UCLA Center for Scholars & Storytellers
Research on how teenagers interact with entertainment and TV regarding mental health, diversity on screen, and other relevant topics.
Provides the annual Teens & Screens report:
"The Center for Scholars & Storytellers proudly presents its annual Teens & Screens Report, offering valuable insights into how teens view the entertainment and social media they engage with."
"The Institute has spent over two decades conducting extensive research on the portrayal of diverse populations. This research serves as a cornerstone for informing and guiding content creators and decision-makers toward more inclusive storytelling practices."
"A core part of the Academy Collection, the Academy Library, also known as the Margaret Herrick Library, is one of the world’s preeminent research facilities dedicated to preserving the artform and industry of motion pictures. Its holdings, amassed since 1928, contain over 52 million items, including books, photographs, scripts, posters, production records, costume design drawings, and so much more."
On the Resources page you can search the Motion Pictures Script Database, Awards Database, acceptance speeches, and more.
News & Reviews
Information on movies, TV shows, actors, producers, and more. Find statistics, lists, events, and more.
News, reviews, and more on the film, television, and business industry.
Ratings, new releases, and news on games, movies, TV, and music.
Critic and audience ratings of movies and TV shows, plus news and lists.
News and articles on the entertainment industry. Provides coverage and analysis of the Oscars, Emmys, and other awards.
News, reviews, and listings of TV shows.
Associations
"The American Film Institute (AFI) is a nonprofit organization with a mandate to champion the moving image as an art form. Established in 1967, AFI launched the first comprehensive history of American film and sparked the movement for film preservation in the United States."
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
"The mission of the Academy is to recognize and uphold excellence in the motion picture arts and sciences, inspire imagination, and connect the world through the medium of motion pictures."
"We are the leading advocate of the film, television, and streaming industry around the world."
See their economic reports and policy filings. Also find information about film ratings.
Screen Actors Guild - American Federation of Television and Radio Artists
"SAG-AFTRA represents approximately 160,000 actors, announcers, broadcast journalists, dancers, DJs, news writers, news editors, program hosts, puppeteers, recording artists, singers, stunt performers, voiceover artists and other media professionals."
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail bis@library.illinois.edu.
