Not your typical book of monologues, this new collection embodies the mission of the Kilroys, an advocacy group founded in 2013 to raise awareness for the underutilized work of female and trans* playwrights. The collection is comprised of 97 monologues, each from a different play off 'The List' from 2014 and 2015, featuring the most unproduced (or under-produced), yet highest-recommended, plays by women in the United States.

The Kilroys are back with a new collection of 67 monologues and scenes by women and nonbinary playwrights. The second volume includes a monologue or scene from each play from the 2016 version of The List (featuring plays that were unproduced at the time of nomination) and the 2017 version of The List (featuring plays by playwrights of color). This collection represents an abundance of excellent new work by women and nonbinary playwrights and reflects a wide ethnic, geographic, and aesthetic diversity.

The first and only book of its kind, this cutting-edge and incredibly hysterical monologue book is specifically for actors auditioning for LGBTQ roles. This collection is the go-to source for the comedic monologue needs of actors seeking LGBT material, as well as a paean to LGBT characters and artists.

A brand-new collection of original audition pieces written by and for actors of colour. The book provides varied, nuanced stories that expand beyond the range of existing material available - from a cross-dressing imam, the first black Prime Minister, the British Indian girl moving to Nashville with dreams of becoming a country star, or the young black boy who loves baking as much as football -Hear Me Now is an essential tool for actors of colour to showcase their range, and seeks to inspire, empower, and create a legacy for generations to come.

Clean Break is a British theatre company set up in 1979 by two women in prison. It exists to tell the stories of women with experience of the criminal justice system and to transform women's lives through theatre. This is a collection of monologues from this canon. This book is for any performer who does not see themselves represented in mainstream plays, for lovers of radical women's theatre and for rebels everywhere who believe that the act of speaking and being heard can create change.

The Panza Monologues is an original solo performance piece based on women's stories about their panzas--tú sabes--that roll of belly we all try to hide. The Panza Monologues features the words of Chicanas speaking with humor and candor. Their stories boldly place the panza front and center as a symbol that reveals the lurking truths about women's thoughts, lives, loves, abuses, and living conditions.

Blackeyed is a collection of plays and monologues. The topics covered in the book include housing and foreclosure, suicide, assault, mental health, the Black male experience, and more. The book intersects with critical race theory because the majority of this work positions race at the center of the experiences of the fictional or fictionalized characters. Embedded in these chapters are the interweaving of personal and ancestral stories, news reports, informal conversations, observations, interviews, and online research expressed in language unapologetically Black, critical, reflexive, and proud.

Divided into monologues for men and women, the selected pieces in Contemporary Monologues for a New Theater draw on the many diverse stories that weave the tapestry of our experience in this exciting new time.