LibGuides: Data &amp; Statistics: Data &amp; Statistics Home

Data vs. Statistics?

Data is raw information that are analyzed to create statistics. It can be numeric/quantitative or qualitative or spatial/geospatial.

Statistics are data presented in a meaningful way, often in tabular, graphical or other visual format.

Types of health data

Surveys
- Populations
- Providers
Vital Statistics
- births, deaths, marriages, divorces
Registriers
- incidence and prevalence of diseases
Health records
- Administrative
- Patient

Data Collection Mechanisms

Surveillance - Public health surveillance refers to the collection, analysis, and use of data to target public health prevention. It is the foundation of public health practice.

CDC Surveillance Resource Center
The Surveillance Resource Center provides members of the public health surveillance community organized, easy access to guidance developed by CDC and its partners for improving the practice of surveillance.

Surveys

Surveys and Data Collection Systems
Includes Populations Surveys, Vital Records, Provider Surbeys and Historical Surveys

Data Resources from NIH and NLM

Big Data to Knowledge Program Resources
The Big Data to Knowledge (BD2K) Centers of Excellence have developed new approaches, methods, software tools and related resources including publications, data standards, and educational resources to advance Big Data Science in their relevant biomedical area of focus.
Data in Motion: New approaches to advancing scientific, engineering and medical progress
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine's Board on Research Data and Information (BRDI) convened a public virtual workshop on October 14-15, 2020, to address how researchers in different domains are utilizing data that undergo repeated processing, often in real-time, to accelerate scientific discovery.
Data Literacy & Management
From Health Services Research Information Central (HSRIC) - The information on this page is intended to serve as an introduction to the topics of data science, data literacy, data management, data sharing, and research reproducibility. Though the emphasis is on health data, information from the broad data science community is included.
NIH Data Sharing Policy
NIH has issued a new Final NIH Policy for Data Management and Sharing, which will require NIH funded researchers to prospectively submit a plan outlining how scientific data from their research will be managed and shared. On January 25, 2023, the new policy will come into effect and replace the 2003 NIH Data Sharing Policy currently in effect.
NNLM RD3
NNLM RD3: Resources for Data-Driven Discovery has been developed to foster learning and collaboration in data science. In order to support sharing, curating, and annotating biomedical data, NNLM RD3 serves as a resource for librarians, library students, information professionals, and interested individuals to learn about and discuss: library roles in data science; fundamentals of domain sciences; emerging trends in supporting biomedical research.

Non-Governmental Reseources for Data & Statistics

American's Health Rankings
For nearly 3 decades, America’s Health Rankings has provided an analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis by evaluating a historical and comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data to determine national health benchmarks and state rankings.
County Health Rankings - Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play. They provide a starting point for change in communities.
Dartmought Atlas of Health Care
Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
Kaiser Family Foundation State Health Facts
Choose Category - or - Choose Location
Kids Count Data Center - Annie E. Casy Foundation
KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States. The indicators featured in the Data Book are also available in the Data Center.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
provides searchable access to NCHS's and many other data sets

Data & Statistics

Agency for Healthcare Research and Qaulity (AHRQ)

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Data

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

CDC Data & Statistics

Data.CDC.gov

National Center for Heatlh Statistics (NCHS)

National Center for Heath Statistics

Data Collection Systems

Programs

Topics

Data and Tools

Publications

The Language of Data

Related Guides

Data vs. Statistics?

Data Collection Mechanisms

Data Resources from NIH and NLM

Non-Governmental Reseources for Data & Statistics