Skip to Main Content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Krannert Center Events: April 2022: Takács Quartet with Julien Labro, Bandoneón and Accordina

Event Details

The Takács Quartet, formed in 1975, is renowned for the vitality of its interpretations. The New York Times lauded the ensemble for “revealing the familiar as unfamiliar, making the most traditional of works feel radical once more,” and the Financial Times described a concert at London’s Wigmore Hall: “Even in the most fiendish repertoire these players show no fear, injecting the music with a heady sense of freedom. At the same time, though, there is an uncompromising attention to detail: neither a note nor a bow-hair is out of place.” As Krannert Center welcomes back the quartet, they will be joined by Julien Labro, who has established himself as the foremost accordion and bandoneón player in both the classical and jazz genres. Deemed to be “a triple threat: brilliant technician, poetic melodist and cunning arranger,” his artistry, virtuosity, and creativity have earned him international acclaim and continue to astonish audiences worldwide (Chicago Tribune). The program includes new works by Bryce Dessner and Clarice Assad, co-commissioned by Krannert Center through the Music Accord consortium of top classical music presenting organizations throughout the United States. These pieces are complemented by Ravel’s String Quartet in F Major and a solo set featuring Julien Labro.

Dessner: Circles
Labro: Meditation #1
Performed by Julien Labro, bandoneón, with Takács Quartet

Saluzzi: Minguito
Bach: Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645
Labro: Astoración
Performed by Julien Labro, bandoneón & accordina

Ravel: String Quartet in F Major
Performed by Takács Quartet

Assad: Clash
Performed by Julien Labro, bandoneón, with Takács Quartet

Friday, April 28th 2022 - 7:30pm CT

Tyron Festival Theater

See the Krannert Center website for more details and to purchase tickets.

Discover at MPAL

... more recordings featuring the Takács Quartet

...  more scores of 21st century music.

Apricity - Concerto for Accordion & Orchestra (Julien Labro)