Finding Historical Context
As many plays are positioned historically or deal with significant historical events, you might find researching Native American history necessary to acquire a more nuanced understanding of the social and historical context for the theatre or theatremakers you are studying. The University of Illinois has a wealth of materials relating to Native American Studies and it can be difficult to know where to start, so we've compiled some recommendations below for archival collections, databases, and collected resource guides to help direct your research.
Archival Collections
The University Archives includes a rich collection of oral history records and other archival materials related to Native American history. If you want to consult them in person, check out the University of Illinois Archives' Plan a Visit page.
-
Doris Duke Indian Oral History Program Archives (1908-95)The collection includes correspondence, news clippings, publications, field notes and diaries, oral history and interview tapes, and transcriptions, relating to Native American customs, history, music, politics, and religion. The archives also contain an extensive collection of Native American music.
Databases
The Library subscribes to dozens of databases that collect resources relating to Indigenous Studies. We are linking two below that are great places to start when looking for historical context for your projects, but there are many more you can explore by checking out the resource guides linked in the next section.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowIncluded are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
-
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
A wide-ranging digital resource presenting a unique insight into interactions between Indigenous Americans and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library's extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection. It also includes manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books, photographs and newspapers. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Resource Guides
Several libraries on campus have created their own guides relating to Native American and Indigenous Studies. We've listed a few below to help you navigate the diversity of materials held across different University of Illinois unit libraries in case you want to consult other interdisciplinary resources in the course of your research.