LibGuides: Government Information on food: U.S. Government

Department of Agriculture (USDA)

USDA Organization Chart
Organizational chart of the USDA

National Agriculture Library
The United States National Agricultural Library is one of the world's largest agricultural research libraries

The USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS

The USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS) contains reports and datasets from several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA).

Food and Nutrition Service
Agency responsible for administering the nation’s domestic nutrition assistance programs.

National School Lunch Program
federally assisted meal program operating in public and nonprofit private schools and residential child care institutions.

National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
Statistical branch of the U.S. Department of Agriculture

Census of Agriculture
A summary of agricultural activity for the United States and for each state ( 1840-)
Agricultural Statistics
Includes data on agricultural production, supplies, and more.

Economic Research Service (ERS)
Provides information and research on agriculture and economics

Agricultural Baseline Database
Provides a custom-query app that enables the user to access the 10-year projections for the U.S. farm sector.
Child Nutrition Programs Topics Page
Reports, data, and articles on USDA's child nutrition programs

Department of Commerce (DOC) > National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

Organization Chart
Organization Chart of the Department of Commerce

NOAA Central Library
Provides scientific, technical and legislative information covering global climate change, aquaculture, coastal zone management, fisheries, meteorology, ocean/atmospheric interactions and more

Bulletin of the United States Fish Commission
An official publication of the U.S. Government since 1881, the years 1881 to 1997 are available in PDF format.
Fisheries Heritage Digital Collection
Digital collection of historical documents on fisheries of the United States from the early 1800s to early 1900s.
U.S. Fish Commission Annual Reports
Annual reports of the United States Fish Commission and the United States Fish and Fisheries Commission from 1871 to 1940, and 1947-1979, in PDF format.

NOAA Fisheries
Government authority on the science and management of fish, other marine life, and their habitats.

Department of Defense

Organization Chart
Organization chart of the Department of Defense

Secretary of Defense Annual Reports
1969-2005
DOD Agency Financial Report (AFR) & Performance and Accountability Report (PAR)
2002-2021

Defense Logistics Agency
The Defense Logistics Agency is the Department of Defense's combat logistics support agency.

DLA Troop support subsistence

Defense Commissary Agency
Agency of the United States Department of Defense that operates nearly commissaries worldwide

Official Publications
Official publications including Director's policies, directives, manuals, instructions
Annual Financial Report
2018-2021. For historic financial information, see Secretary of Defense Annual Reports and DOD Agency Financial Reports for previous information

Army Public Health Center
U.S. Army Medical Department organization

Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

Organization Chart
Organization chart of the Department of Health and Human Services

HHS Digital Library
Journal articles and e-books on biomedical, clinical, public health, health services research, health economics, social and behavior sciences.

National Institute of Health (NIH) National Library of Medicine
World's largest medical library.

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE) Library
The ASPE Library contains resources related to health policy and human services policy

Data resources guide
Directory of Health and Human Services Data Resources

Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
The FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by ensuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products and more

Research Guides and Collections

Agriculture and Horticulture Guides by the Library of Congress
List of research guides created by the Library of Congress
Food-Related Data Sources guide
Federal Statistical Agencies and the private sector develop and maintain a wide variety of data on various aspects of food markets and consumer food choice behavior.
Food and Foodways Web Archive
The collection provides an inclusive space for food-related sites proposed by nominators from a wide spectrum of subject areas and specialties.