Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

BADM 340 Ethical Dilemmas of Business

PESTLE Resources

PESTLE Databases

The chart below displays databases with PESTLE information that BIS subscribes to annually. The chart provides the broad topics which are available within each database. To access the database desired, click on the database title to take you to the database. If you are off campus, you will be required to type your Illinois Net ID and password first for authentication.

Database Political Economic Social Technological Legal Environmental Company Reports Country Reports Industry Reports
Business Source Ultimate  
EIU ✔Structure
✔Stability
✔Internatonal Relations
✔Corruption
✔GDP
✔Growth
✔Inflation
✔Exchange rates
✔Forecast
✔Population
✔Demographics
✔Culture
  ✔Policy
✔Regulation
    ✔Country Data  
Emerging Markets Information Services ✔Outlooks
✔Corruption
✔GDP
✔Growth
✔Trade
✔Exchange Rates
✔Population
✔Demographics
✔Tourism
✔Policy
✔Regulation
Passport

✔Aggregated data from IMF, World Bank, ministry/statistics

✔Trade

✔Culture
✔Consumer
✔Education
✔Legal services ✔Natural Resources ✔Country data
PRS ✔Player to watch
✔Regime scenario
✔GDP
✔Investment/ Trade
✔Forecasts
✔Inflation rates
✔Geography
✔Labor conditions
  ✔Policies
✔Legal Framework
     
Statista ✔Political Environment ✔Economic Conditions
✔Trade & Investment
✔GDP
✔Consumer Behavior
✔Population
✔Human Development Index
✔Digital Infrastructure
✔FinTech
✔Telecommunication
✔Policy ✔Country data
World Bank's Doing Business 2020 Report ✔Role of government ✔International Trade     ✔Regulation     ✔Country data ✔Electricity

EIU Country Intelligence

In search box, type country name, then click GO

 

 

The results will show a profile of the country. You may search through the tabs at the top of the profile or go to the REPORTS tab, and click 'Generate Country Reports'.

 

Emerging Markets Information Service

To find information: first select a country or multiple countries; then click on company analysis, industry analysis, or country analysis tab; and type the name within search box.

Passport

To locate statistics, look under Search (in the upper left corner of the Home/Welcome page). You can generate tables of statistics on Consumer, Industrial, and Service Markets by clicking on the appropriate link. The next step requires you to select among several countries. You can also use the toolbar at the top of the page to explore by Industries, Countries, and Consumers. If you need a table about Food Shopping Habits in Croatia, this is the resource for you.

For example, to search for industry statistics, go to 'Search Statistics' section; select 'industries'; choose a industry you are interested in; click go .

For database help, click here.
 

Statista for Country Research

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. 

Type the name of the country in the search box and the press 'Statista Search"

Once you see the search results, scroll to 'Industry & Country Reports' on the left hand side of the screen. 

The results will show you all the country reports for the country you are searching for and you are able to download the report as a PDF.

DHL Global Connectedness Index

Developed by Steven Altman and Philip Bastian of NYU's Stern School of Business, the DHL Global Connectedness Index (CGI) aims to provide a comprehensive account of world's top 140 countries' connections in terms of cross-border trade, capital, information (telecommunications, publications, Internet), people (immigrants, students, tourism)  and stocks accumulated through 2020.  These countries encompass the world's GDP (99%) and population (95%).

The Index of rankings is contained in a lengthy 250 page report, chock-full of insights gathered from various data sources, such as the United Nations, IMF, World Economic Forum, Heritage Freedom Index, Euromonitor, Telogeography.com, and Henley & Partners Visa Restrictions Index.   Starting on page 86 are the country profiles, organized alphabetically.  

A sample country profile and how to examine it is supplied below. 

 

This index differs in that it does not have a political bias, unlike the Heritage Foundations' Index of Economic Freedom, published by a well-known US conservative think-tank (but considered an important barometer). The report utilizes many authoritative data sources. 

Note: the study was funded by a logistics company, DHL. 

 

 

 

 

 

Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) Confidence Index

FDI Confidence Index

Regular survey of CEOs, CFOs, and other top executives of Global 1000 companies, performed by AT Kearney, a global management consulting firm.  The report, which focuses on expectations regarding international investment, is available for free and can be downloaded as a PDF.

Below is a chart of the top ranked countries. 

 

Previous years' rankings:

 

 

 

 

Index of Economic Freedom

Index of Economic Freedom

The Index of Economic Freedom covers 10 specific freedoms such as trade freedom, business freedom, investment freedom, and property rights in 184 countries.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Country Reports

IMF Country Reports

Reports and statistics about a country's economic conditions, developments and issues. Provides articles, news announcements, and analyses published by IMF staff.

KOF Index of Globalization

KOF Index of Globalization

Measures economic, social, and political aspects of globalization and provides an overall globalization index with sub-topics. Data are available on a yearly basis for 208 countries.

SocialProgress.org

SocialProgress.org

SocialProgress.org is a free, open access resource that measures the social and environmental aspects of progress for individual countries. Their interface allows you to compare countries in categories like basic human needs, foundations of wellbeing, and opportunity.

Transparency Index

Transparency International is a German-based voluntary association founded by former employees of the World Bank.  Its purpose is to combat global corruption practices by nations.  

The Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) ranks countries and territories based on how corrupt their public sector is perceived to be. It is a composite index – a combination of polls – drawing on corruption-related data collected by a variety of reputable institutions. The CPI reflects the views of observers from around the world.   You can search by country.