International Business - BUS 301 - Business in Action - LibGuides at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

eMarketer

eMarketer
Contains research articles, reports and statistics on the global digital marketing, social media, e-commerce and emerging technologies. The database publishes over 200 reports each year, covering most important topics of the digital environment. Users can search for over 50,000 charts and data sets gathered and analyzed from about 4,000 sources including IT research firms, academic institutions, company reports, trade associations and others.

more... less...

University users cannot get personal account for the mobile app.
Mozilla Firefox, Safari, or Chrome are the preferred browsers.

Passport

Passport Global Market Information Database
This database contains demographic, economic, and background marketing statistics for over 200 countries, as well as market and economic forecasts. Passport also contains major market reports and consumer lifestyle reports for countries from all over the globe.

To locate statistics, look under Search (in the upper left corner of the Home/Welcome page). You can generate tables of statistics on Consumer, Industrial, and Service Markets by clicking on the appropriate link. The next step requires you to select among several countries. You can also use the toolbar at the top of the page to explore by Industries, Countries, and Consumers. If you need a table about Food Shopping Habits in Croatia, this is the resource for you.

For example, to search for industry statistics, go to 'Search Statistics' section; select 'industries'; choose a industry you are interested in; click go .

For database help, click here.

Global Consumption Database

Global Consumption Database

The Global Consumption Database is part of the World Bank. It's a one-stop source of data on household consumption patterns in developing countries. The data are based on national household surveys, which collect information for a group of households representative of the entire country. For each of the countries covered, the resulting datasets have been used to calculate the share of the population at different levels of consumption.

Households in developing countries were categorized in four consumption segments for the Global Consumption Database: lowest, low, middle, and higher. Four levels of consumption are used to segment the market in each country: lowest, low, middle, and higher. They are based on global income distribution data, which rank the global population by income per capita.

These thresholds were used to establish the four consumption segments:

Lowest—below $2.97 per capita a day
Low—between $2.97 and $8.44 per capita a day
Middle—between $8.44 and $23.03 per capita a day
Higher—above $23.03 per capita a day

You can start your search by selecting a country, a sector, or a product/service in the dashboard.

Emerging Markets Information Service

Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)
This resource delivers hard-to-get information on more than 80 emerging markets. It aggregates and produces unique content including full-text news articles, financial statements, company information, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information, which are derived directly from more than 13,000 local and global publications.

To find information: first select a country or multiple countries; then click on company analysis, industry analysis, or country analysis tab; and type the name within search box.

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Furnishes statistics, papers, and selected special reports on the member countries of OECD; covers various aspects of economies including education, economy, infrastructure, and trade.

Proquest Statistical Insight

ProQuest Statistical Insight (Statistical Universe)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides references to statistical publications issued by federal and state governments, commercial publishers, trade and professional organizations, etc. A good place to start if you need statistical information but don't know where to look.

Click HERE to get one of the database's quick tutorials. NOTE: you must logged in on campus or via proxy server to see the guide.

To get industry statistics, click on Index Terms under the search bar; select "industry and commerce"; click on Paste to search and then search.

International Financial Statistics from IMF eLibrary

IMF e-Library

This resource has time-series data for more than 200 countries and areas, exchange rates and fund position for member countries as well as information about national accounts, interest rates, inflation, etc. Maintained by the International Monetary Fund.

Once in the IMF eLibrary, select 'International Financial Statistics (IFS)' under 'Featured Data'.

For definitions of data terms, click here and select the Manuals and Guides tab.
For database help, click "Help" in the upper right-hand corner of the IMF eLibrary homepage.

EPS China Data

EPS China Data This link opens in a new window
EPS China Data presents a collection of China statistical data and census data. It provides access to 41 China statistical databases (and more sub-databases) sourced from industrial, regional and national organizations, covering a wider range of subjects and fields. EPS China Data contains over 1.2 million time series of basic and combined statistical indicators with a yearly increment of more than 55 million numeric data.