Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

BUS 301 - Business in Action

The guide to to assist researchers in finding relevant resources for their experiential learning projects.

Resources for Assocations, Non-Profits, Foundations

Associations Unlimited

Consists of three files corresponding to: Vol. 1 of Encyclopedia of associations; Encyclopedia of associations. International organizations; and: Encyclopedia of associations. Regional, state, and local organizations.

 When you arrive at the homepage, scroll down until you see the Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations, Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S., and Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations. undefined

You can search for an organization or topic in the search box under the Encyclopedia. 

undefined

You can search within the series or you can select an edition. 

undefined

 

GuideStar

Connects donors and grantmakers to non-profit organizations. Search for organizations to see program, financial, and operations information for non-profit organizations. 

In the search box, type in a keyword or organization name. Then press search.

Once you can view your search results, you can limit your search by selecting Geography, Organization, Financials (on left-hand side of the screen).

 

When you select an organization, you will find a summary, programs & results, financials, and operations. 

For more information: http://help.guidestar.org/en/collections/1020394-how-to-use-guidestar-pro

 

Trade Publications

Registered Student Organizations

Small Nonprofit Grant Opportunities

Community Foundation of Central Illinois

"Since its inception in 1972, the Community Foundation’s assets have grown from $1,300 to nearly $27 million. This growth in well-managed" endowed funds and other assets, along with administering grant dollars on behalf of the Marajen Stevick Foundation and in cooperation with the Lumpkin Foundation, has enabled us to make $1 million distributions annually for several years to nonprofit organizations in east central Illinois." Grant application guidelines can be found here. 

Champaign Public Library hosted a Go-to-Tips for Getting Grants by Community Foundation of Central Illinois.  The Youtube of the event is found here. https://youtu.be/3cmwbX9IC0Q

 

 

IRS Form 990

The online search tool allows you to search for an organization's tax exempt status and filings in the following data bases: Form 990 Series Returns. Form 990-N (e-Postcard), Pub. 78 Data, Automatic Revocation of Exemption List and Determination Letters. You can check an organization's eligibility to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions and review information about the organization's tax-exempt status and filings.