Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Classical Philology: Latin: Bibliography

Core Bibliographies

L’Année Philologique

Login required: L’Année philologique, published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. The online database includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I, published in 1928. 

 

Gnomon Bibliographic Database

Open-access: The Gnomon Bibliographic Database (GBD) is one of the most extensive database systems in Classical Studies, comprising 600,000 entries. The database lists monographs, edited volumes with all contributions, journal articles, reviews, and dictionaries from all of the modern era and in all academic languages. The indexing of YouTube-material and other internet resources is at the moment a unique characteristic of GBD. The database results from a long-standing and intensive collaboration of the Bavarian State Library (Munich) with the University Libraries of Augsburg, Eichstätt, and Tübingen.

 

Oxford Bibliographies

Login required: Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. Some useful entries include: 

 

TOCS-IN

Open-access: TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15 percent).

 

ZENON

Open-access: ZENON is the bibliographic database of the German Archaeological Institute (or DAI, for Deutsches Archäologisches Institut), which compiles some of the most important bibliographies on archaeology and in Classical studies more broadly. ZENON grows daily from the contributions of the DAI departments in Rome, Athens, Istanbul, and the head office in Berlin. It encompasses about 400,000 titles collected since 1956.

 

Book Reviews

Bryn Mawr Classical Review

Open-access. Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR) publishes timely, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). This site is the authoritative archive of BMCR's publication, from 1990 to the present.

Abbreviations

Bibliographic citations in Classics often use standard abbreviations for journal and series titles. The following resources can help you identify and locate citations.

 

L’Année Philologique

Open-access: L’Année philologique employs a system of abbreviations that have largely become standard in the field. The Brepols database provides an open-access link to the full listing of all abbreviations used in this essential bibliography.

 

Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines

Print, 2nd ed.; by Jean Susorney Wellington (Praeger, 2003): This revised edition has been greatly expanded, with nearly twice the abbreviations as the first edition. Abbreviations for internet sites are now included, as are those for associations in the broad area of Classical Studies. This dictionary is divided into two parts. Part One consists of an alphabetical listing of bibliographic abbreviations. Part Two is an alphabetically-arranged bibliographic descriptions.