Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
This database focuses on the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. Resources focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, this collection includes digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
Trial
A full-text archive of art & architecture magazines from 1895-2015, covering the topics of fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
Trial
This database's expanded third edition contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. This edition also contains previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
Trial
This collection features new work of both established playwrights alongside up-and-coming playwrights from around the world. This includes recently produced world premieres, previously unpublished works, etc. from every continent.
Trial
The only collection of curated primary and secondary full-text materials to support informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship in dance.

Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material that dissolve the distance between archive and scholar and draw dance students into the library.
Trial
Early European Books contains works printed in Europe before 1701, drawing together a diverse array of printed sources, regardless of language, as well as works published further afield. This resource offers full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books in Europe.
Trial
This archive provides access to the Economist Intelligence Unit's Country Reports (1952-1995) for almost 200 countries, containing detailed statistics, commentary, and forecasts.
Trial
This collection of multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) focuses on environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. The database is curated around the events and environmental issues of the 20th and 21st centuries. The content is drawn from the social sciences, ecology and earth science, and the humanities.
Trial
Ethnographic Video Online, Teaching Edition is a curriculum-aligned collection of videos and segments curated to support the teaching of introductory anthropology courses. Each video and segment within this collection are accompanied by a teaching guide providing background information, lesson plans, and class room exercises and activities. There are a variety of themes that are discussed including family and kinship, gender roles, cultural identity, belief systems and other topics centered around diversity, change, and culture.
Trial
This database contains the archives of 26 of the most influential periodical publications covering LGBT interests from 1954-2015. It includes publications from both the US and UK. This resource also caters to interests in many related fields, such as 20th-century history, sociology, health studies, political science, and psychology.
Trial
Aimed at the study of incarceration from a global perspective, this database includes archival materials, reference texts, court cases, first-hand accounts, videos, Supreme Court audio files, rehabilitation research, training materials, and artistic works.
Trial
This collection features full-text periodicals depicting American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s through local and international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music, and advertisements. Users can also cross-search the full text of all articles with videos, audio recordings, photographs, scores, and reference texts.
Trial
This database collection contains 256 plays by 49 playwrights representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others.
Trial
This online database contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights and brings these writings the attention they deserve, by publishing the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays. This collection includes playbills and other ephemera as well.
Trial
Performance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
Trial
This database provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with the Montreal Gazette's coverage of politics, society and events from 1857-2010.
Trial
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.
Trial
This database provides access to the Leader-Post, covering politics, society and events of Regina, Saskatchewan from 1883-2010.
Trial
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.
Trial
This database consists of digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Major collection areas in History Vault focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century, and labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century.
Trial
This database delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history. This collection includes personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches.
Trial
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 2,059 plays by 434 playwrights, and more than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. It offers a unique window into the economic, historical, social, and political psyche of two countries, allowing Scholars and students to study the signal events of the twentieth century in a new way through drama. This collection includes scripts, playbills, photographs, posters and more.
Trial
This multivolume, cross-searchable online collection brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the first decade of the 21st century. This database supports research and teaching in comparative religion, theology, world religion, religion and law, and religion and politics, and serves as an important resource for courses and scholarship in Middle Eastern studies, social theory, feminist studies, philosophy, and world history.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...