A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Alternate Name(s)
19th Century British Pamphlets, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, World Heritage Sites - Africa
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Identifies articles in regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires and newspaper columns, as well as TV and radio news transcripts. Provides cover-to-cover full text for over 20 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. Also contains selected full text from more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
PsycInfo is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycInfo {reg} provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.--About the database.
Alternate Name(s)
Social Sciences Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Alternate Name(s)
Amnesty International Archives: A Global Movement for Human Rights
Amnesty International Archives: A Global Movement for Human Rights publishes the records of Amnesty International from the second half of the twentieth century. The material contains minutes, reports, correspondence, first-hand accounts, publicity materials and circulars relating to human rights violations of all kinds in all parts of the world.
Trial expires 12/20/2023. Art and Architecture in Video offers documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. The collection spans period and region, including coverage of the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary art. In addition to art history and theory, the collection addresses applied topics such as architectural and graphic design.
A digital collection of primary source materials from the histories of civil rights activism in the United States. Initially focused on the African American experience, the collections will include the activism of other groups as they grow. Document types include correspondence, demonstration plan outlines, transportation logs and plans, meeting minutes, programs from worship services, photographs, audio and video.
Part of the Reveal Digital collections on the JSTOR platform.
A collection of more than 6,000 newsreels produced by the Topical Film Company between 1911 and 1931. Users can search or browse in 24 different thematic areas, including the First World War, Women and Gender, Celebrities, and the British Empire.
CDMNext is a web-based portal for accessing macroeconomic data about international markets. It collates datasets from thousands of sources worldwide. U of I users may click the "Go" button under Guest Access to start using the database, OR register a personal account for a more customized experience.
Critical Collective is an organization dedicated to preserving and disseminating writing about the visual arts in India. The organization's website includes both lesser-known histories of Indian visual arts as well as new writing about the recent history and developments in the visual arts in India.
Gale Digital Scholar Lab equips students and scholars with text and data mining resources, visualization tools, and methodology suggestions. The incremental process of Build, Clean, and Analyze supports newcomers and experienced users alike as they interpret both Gale Primary Sources and their own documents.
Visit the Lab to see what texts are available, what analyses can be run, and view sample projects.
Alternate Name(s)
Med One Vet Med
MedOne Veterinary Medicine
MedOne VetMed is an experimental product consisting of 100 machine-translated German ebooks on veterinary medicine topics hosted on Thieme's MedOne platform.
The MLA Handbook is the only official, authorized book on MLA format. The ninth edition builds on the MLA’s unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements—facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date—that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, YouTube videos, dissertations, and more.
An online geographic information system (GIS) mapping tool that aggregates 50,000 indicators from hundreds of sources. Its interactive mapping and analytics platform allows users to create maps and reports for research and policy-making. Trial active through December 10, 2023.
