University Library

LibGuides

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Africa Commons: Black South African Magazines This link opens in a new window
New
Black South African Magazines brings together over 50,000 pages of popular magazines written for Black African audiences and published between 1937 and 1973. Much of the content, which includes investigative journalism, photography, fiction, reviews, biographies, advertisements, and more, was created by a new generation of Black journalists, writers and artists. Many of the titles were syndicated across the continent and contained content specifically developed for the African English-speaking world, so they provide a view of Black society across all of Africa.

Black South African Magazines was developed in partnership with Sabinet, a leading publisher of African materials for libraries, the materials were sourced from African libraries and digitized in Africa.
New
Alternate Name(s) East African Magazines, Newspapers, and Films: The Hilary Ng'weno Archive
The archive presents more than 100,000 pages of newly digitized, historically significant, groundbreaking publications from Hilary Ng’weno’s media company. Much of the material has not been available outside of Africa and will be invaluable for researchers and students in journalism, history, political science, Africana studies, education, and media studies. Highlights include publications from The Weekly Review, The Nairobi Times, Rainbow children's magazine, and Making of a Nation documentaries.
Africa Commons: History and Culture This link opens in a new window
New
A comprehensive place for searching and collecting African historical and cultural materials, including over 4,350 collections, 575,000 documents, from over 640 organizations.
New
Alternate Name(s) Southern African Films & Documentaries
With content spanning the 1900s to the early 2000s, Southern African Films and Documentaries offers—for the first time—streaming access to more than a century of African history, politics, and culture. Five film types are represented— propaganda, newsreels, documentaries, feature films, and interviews. The content supports teaching and research in African studies, film and cinema, history and world culture, race and ethnicity, women’s studies, and other areas.
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
New
The MLA Handbook is the only official, authorized book on MLA format. The ninth edition builds on the MLA’s unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements—facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date—that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, YouTube videos, dissertations, and more.
South Asia Commons: History and Culture This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) South Asian History and Culture
South Asian History and Culture is a project to build the largest full text repository of quality South Asian books, magazines, reports, historical journals, video, audio, zines, newspapers, magazines, letters, diaries, and other primary source materials. The database provides in-depth, advanced searching, with centralized access to over 500 organizations, 350,000 documents, and millions of pages scattered across the internet.
The Plan Journal This link opens in a new window
Trial
Trial through December 31, 2024. Click on the "login" button when trying to view full text, and the site will pass you through to the full text of the articles. The Plan Journal (TPJ) intends to disseminate and promote innovative, thought-provoking and relevant research, studies and criticism in architecture and urbanism.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...