Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

ME 470

Welcome to the course page. The library is a resource that exists for YOU!

Handbooks

Access Engineering
Online access to the most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. Includes Marks’ Handbook, Roark’s Formulas for Stress & Strain, Mechanisms and Mechanical Devices Sourcebook, and several Schaum’s Outlines for mechanics, statics and dynamics. Recommended for mechanical engineering.

American Society for Materials Handbooks Online
ASM Handbook for material properties, materials selection for various industries, composites, testing and fracture analysis.

CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook
Access to physical and chemical properties data.

SpringerMaterials: The Landolt-Bornstein Database
Curated data for material properties, phase diagrams, composition and structures.

For more information and a subject-specific list, see the Engineering Handbooks page.

Conference Proceedings

Professional societies hold conferences for experts to present to one another, network, and communicate. Conference proceedings are published papers that were written at or for a conference. Thus, many of the digital libraries listed in the Scholarly Information page of this guide contain conference proceedings:

Scopus can also be a great source for discovering conference papers. Scopus may not contain the Full Text, but the university catalog or a link resolver can help you find the right place.

Technical Reports

Technical reports are often published by government entities. Visit the Grainger Engineering Library has a Government Documents site. 

An important resource is the National Technical Reports Library, which provides bibliographic citations to over 350,000 printed publications and technical reports that National Technical Information Service (NTIS) has received from government agencies since 1990. Full text is available by logging in using a free account. The NTIS database is also searchable through Engineering Village.