Searching the Catalog
The University library has a wealth of materials regarding film and film criticism. When using the online catalog to search for movies, use "Feature films" as your search term and choose the "Subject" field. You can locate books on film criticism by searching "Film criticism" and selecting the "Subject" field.
Citing Films and Media
This page from Berkeley offers comprehensive guidance on how to cite films and other media in your bibliography.
The Purdue Owl site provides clear and thorough citation guidance.
Databases
These databases contain publications focused on film studies or containing some amount of film criticism. A subject search for "film criticism" makes a good starting point; add other terms. eg "Ford, John" in additional rows to narrow your topic.
- JSTORAn excellent (if sometimes overwhelming) database for all things humanities related.
- FIAF International Index to Film PeriodicalsPro tip: Once at the FIAF site, select "Index to Film Periodicals" to bring you to an advanced search page.
Online Reference and Web Resources
- The Top Film Criticism SitesUse this annotated blog and its recommended sites to jump-start your thinking. Warning: these are not necessarily credible sources, but can provide inspiration when searching databases for peer-reviewed articles.
- Literatures and Languages Library LibGuideThe Literature and Languages Library has an in-depth guide to the print materials on film and film criticism available at Illinois.
- Online Reference CollectionThe University library's online reference collection contains searchable e-books. Credo Reference makes a good starting point for subject searches such as "film criticism." You can also select "Film" from the "Resources by Subject" list for materials solely devoted to film studies.
