The major black newspapers of the twentieth century. Click here to see a complete list. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

A wide ranging collection that complements our largest collection of digitized African American newspapers, ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers. While ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers covers the major, metropolitan black newspapers of the twentieth century, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides access to a broader range of publications, especially the black press of America's smaller cities, and the few extant issues of the earliest black newspapers, most of which were previously available only on microfilm or in smaller digital collections scattered around the Internet. Click here to view a complete title list for African American Newspapers Series I and II. Part of America's Historical Newspapers and the Archive of Americana.

Nine major African American newspapers of the nineteenth century, including Freedom's Journal (the first African American newspaper ever published), the Christian Recorder, the Colored American, Douglass' Monthly, Frederick Douglass' Paper, the National Era, the North Star, the Provincial Freeman, and the Weekly Advocate. Click here to view a complete title list for African American Newspapers: The Nineteenth Century.

About 170 periodicals published by, for, or about African Americans. Part of the Archive of Americana.

A subset of Chronicling America (a joint project of the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress) which is trying to digitize historically significant American newspapers.

1959-present. Newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from ethnic, minority and native presses.

Identifies articles on all aspects of Black studies, in journals from North America, Africa, and the Caribbean. Part of the Black Studies Center. Includes the Marshall Index, which covers 1940-1946. Indexes publications from 1902-present. In the current version of Black Studies Center, the International Index to Black periodicals and the Marshall Index have been combined into a single browsable file called "Black Literature Index," and are no longer separately searchable.

Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society 68, no. 4 (September 1975): 344-52. Arranged by city of publication. Does not indicate where, if anywhere, the newspapers are held.