Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Japanese Studies Resource Guide for EALC Grad Students: Home

Japanese studies research resources and library guide for graduate students in the Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures.

New Japanese Books

Japanese Databases

Japanese Collections at Illinois

Collection Strengths:

•Religion
•Buddhism
•Shinto
•History
•Emphasis on Pre-Modern (to 1867), Pre-World War II (Early Modern), Colonial era, and Post War.  Strong collection of historical maps.
•Art
•Literature
•Reference Materials in International and Area Studies Library:
•Strong collection of encyclopedia and specialized dictionaries.
 
•Emerging / Growing Areas: 
•Environmental Studies
•Growing field of research interest;
•Modern theater
•Manga

 

Many Asian language materials are circulated from the Central Circulation desk and the materials are accessible from the Main Stacks. Faculty, students, and other patrons wishing to browse the Asian-language circulating collection should enter Main Stacks via the Central Circulation desk on the the 2nd Floor of the Main Library. 

East Asian materials bearing LC call numbers (meaning they carry one or two alphabetical characters at the beginning of their call numbers, e.g. "BX598.A4") are shelved on the 7th, 8th and 9th floor of the Main Stacks. (* It always helps to keep in mind that the 5th floor of the Main Stacks is connected to the 2nd floor of the Main Library Building, where the Main Stacks entrance is located.)

Current periodicals and reference collection are housed in the International & Area Studies Library in 321 Main Library.

If you have any trouble finding materials, please contact the International & Area Studies Library, 321 Main Library (217.333.1501) for assistance.

Get Research Help From a Librarian!

Get Individualized Research Help from a Librarian & Make an Appointment

Now you can request individualized research consultation with a librarian via online form. To make an appointment, please click on the link below and fill out the form:

Individual Research Consultation Form

Subject Guide