Identifies books, book chapters, and journal articles on all aspects of the history of science, technology, and medicine. Based four standard bibliographic tools: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science (1913-currrent with expanded retrospective coverage), the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (1964-current with expanded retrospective coverage), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza (1982-2007 with expanded retrospective coverage), and the catalog of the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine (1532-current).
Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science began in 1913 as an annual supplement to the journal Isis.
Current Bibliography in the History of Technology began in 1964 as an annual supplement to the journal Technology and Culture.
Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza began in 1982 as part of the Biblioteca di bibliografia italiana.
Based on the English Short Title Catalog, ECCO includes almost every book printed in England,Ireland, Scotland, and Wales during the 18th century, regardless of language, along with thousands of English-language books printed elsewhere in the same time period. The database also includes some serials. It is possible to search the collection based on categories, which include medicine, science, and technology.
The full text of over 1,500 scholarly journals, with coverage back to the first issue for each, in some cases as far back as the 17th century. Recent issues of most journals in this database are embargoed by journal publishers, so to be certain you are also identifying the most recent publications, use an article index like Historical Abstracts or America: History, and Life.
A collection of books from both world's fairs and state fairs during the period 1834-1918, digitized from a 174 reel microfilm set; records from the Smithsonian Institution and the United States National Museum documenting their roles in world's fairs and international expositions during the period 1867-1940; world's fair memorabilia from the period 1851-1940; publications by and about world's fairs during the period 1843-1922; agricultural trade literature from the period 1820-1926; and trade catalogs and miscellaneous trade literature from the period 1850-1926.
The History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library has prepared a libguide pertaining to the digital collections available to affiliates of UIUC. Click on the provided link to explore the various online resources related to the History of Science. This will redirect you to a different libguide.
The histories of science, technology, and mathematics merge with the study of humanities and social science in this interdisciplinary reference work. Essays on people, theories, discoveries, and concepts are combined with overviews, bibliographies of primary documents, and chronological elements to offer students a fascinating way to understand the impact of science on the course of human history and how science affects everyday life. Approximately 2,000 entries.