Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Agricola: Home

The official guide to the database AGRICOLA from Funk/ACES Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Database: Agricola

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) database serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide  access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. Agricola contains two primary information sets, the NAL Online Public Access Catalog which contains citations to materials (mostly) held in the NAL's collection, and the Article Citation
Database
, which includes citations, many with abstracts, to articles, book chapters, reports, and reprints. 1970-1985 is international in scope. 1985+ focuses on U.S. related publications.

Agricola: Quick Tips

  • Four Query Types

    • Basic Search: General search; can limit by date, type, or relevancy rating.
    • Find Citation: Perfect if you have a specific article you are looking for.
    • Advanced Search: Allows users to combine searches using Boolean operators, set limits, and map to related terms.
    • Multi-field Search: Combine terms in specific search areas (e.g., “Smith” in author field, “soybeans” in subject field, “2013” in date field)
    •  
  • Better Queries

    • Use "quotation marks" to search for the exact phrase within the marks (Reduces number of results)
    • Use the OR operator to return results with either of the search terms (Increases number of results)
    • Use the NOT operator to exclude results containing the term following the NOT (Reduces number of results)
    • Use the wildcard symbol (*)  to replace multiple characters in a word i.e. agricultur* will search agriculture, agricultural, agriculturalist etc. (Increases number of results)
  • Refining Results

    • Search results can be limited by item type, relevancy or year published
    • By selecting "Addition Limits" results can be filtered by language, target audience, or nature of contents( Thesis, Dictionary, Abstract, Reviews)
  • Previous Searches

    • Agricola keeps a running list of the previous searches during the session above the query bar
    • To quickly access them click the display button to the right of the previous query

Library

Funk ACES Library's picture
Funk ACES Library
Contact:
200 ACES Library, Information and Alumni Center
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801
Reference Desk: 217-244-2249
Website