LibGuides: Foreign Governments: Home

General Information

This guide provides information related to foreign governments including Canada and the United Kingdom, as the University Library serves as a depository library for these countries. Information about Mexico and additional governments is also included. These resources explain how other governments work, contact information, and additional resources for research and understanding.

Databases

Try these resources for foreign government information, or click on the tabs in the left column for more complete lists.

EIU Viewpoint: Country Analysis Advanced This link opens in a new window
Created to support country market research, this database includes In-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends for over 195 countries worldwide, with an 18 month outlook. Quarterly and annual statistics with at least 150 data points picked from reliable sources and reviewed by Economist Intelligence Unit analysts to provide consistent, objective and impartial coverage.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
FBIS Daily Reports, 1941-1996 constitutes a one-of-a-kind archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides fascinating insight into the second half of the 20th century. Many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred. Digitized from original paper copy and high-quality microfilm, this definitive online collection features eight full-text databases, from Africa, Asia and the Pacific, South Asia, Eastern and Western Europe, Latin America, the Middle East and the Soviet Union. Fully searchable for the first time, this unique digital collection features individual bibliographic records for each report and highlighted events to assist researchers.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports This link opens in a new window
Searchable database projected to be a complete full-text collection of the reports issued by the Joint Publications Research Service of the United States Department of Commerce. JPRS (acting as a unit within the Central Intelligence Agency) was established in March 1957 as part of the United States Department of Commerce's Office of Technical Services. JPRS staffers prepared translations for use by U.S. Government officials, various agencies, and the research and industrial communities. This unique collection features English translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, serials, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from regions throughout the world. With an emphasis on communist and developing countries, this digital edition of Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1995, contains a wealth of hard-to-find social science, scientific, and technical materials translated from many languages.

Collection Information

The University Library has been a Canadian depository library since 1927 and includes a substantial collection of materials from the government of Canada. In addition, large collections of government materials from the United Kingdom, Mexico, and other governments can be found in our collection.

Strengths of the collection include:

United Kingdom

Parliamentary papers
- Sessional papers
- Command papers
- House of Commons
- House of Lords
- Parliamentary debates

Canada

House of Commons
Senate
Parliament
Judiciary

All foreign government documents can be found in the Library Catalog:

Search by author: name of country. For example, United Kingdom, Canada, Mexico, etc.
To find specific types of documents, use the Advanced Search and include the name of the country in the author field text box and keywords or titles in another text box.