Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Food Culture: Home

How to use this guide

The top set of tabs will help you navigate information on the archives.  Some tabs will have "subpages".  You will see these when you click on the tab down arrow.  The links on the left and right side bars will take you to the Archives search page and a variety of research guides on specialized topics.

Topics

Food, culture, identity

Food insecurities, crises, etc.: GMOs; e. coli and other types of outbreaks; recalls, etc.

Food and foreign aid, foreign policy

International Cuisine

The guides listed below are devoted to general study of the cultures of various cultures.  Each includes a page with either links to online recipes or suggested cookbooks - all in English.

Welcome to the archives!

While a great deal of information exists on the "food culture" on campus it is a very broad topic and can take you into a number of unexpected areas.  To find primary source materials you will need some knowledge of the organization of the archives.  The organization of the archives requires some knowledge of the organization and history of the university.  If you are going to look in the archives for any topic it is a good idea to familiarize yourself with the archives and how they work.   

 


 

 

Guidelines

  • The archives changes over time.   This may seem obvious, but it will save you frustration as you keep in mind that this means its organization changes over time as well.  Don't hesitate to ask for help!
  • Plan your search. Do you want to search by University department?  Do you have potential subject headings?  Are there names of individuals you can search?  Be sure you have a clear idea of how to approach your topic. Review "Searching the Archives".
  • Try preliminary searches.  Before you come to the archives, keep in mind that "Subjects" are not keywords and not the same as the subject headings used in the library.   You may need to be creative in your search.  Information on "alcohol use" on campus, for example, may be under "alcohol", "alcohol abuse", "drinking", or "liquor". 
  • Identify the location. If you search the archives database "Archon," and find record series that look promising, make note of the location of the files.  Which building are they in?  Do you need to plan a trip to the Archives Research Center?
  • Digital records.  Remember that the archives created digital "surrogates" for some print material.  If you are looking for something that you think exists in a digital format and are not finding it try searching the "Image/E-record Title" tab under "D" for "Digital Surrogate".  When materials are digitized by our archives, the title of those documents may begin with the words "Digital surrogate of..."
  • When all else fails - ask an archivist!!  We have excellent people who understand the archives' complexity and are willing to help.  Don't hesitate to ask for assistance if you have problems.

Subject Guide

Student Life and Culture Archives's picture
Student Life and Culture Archives
Contact:
Student Life & Culture Archives
Archives Research Center (Hort Field Lab)
1707 S. Orchard St.
Urbana, IL 61801
Website

Peg Burnette

Peg (Margaret) Burnette's picture
Peg (Margaret) Burnette
Contact:
SSHEL - Main Library
217 300-5942