Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

EMBA Introduction to the Business & Economics Library Databases

Basic Contact Information

The following is information and links for help from BEL in Champaign:

Hours:

Spring 2009
Jan 20-May 6


Mon-Thur: 8:30am-10:00pm
Fri: 8:30am-5:00pm
Sat: 1:00pm-5:00pm
Sun: 1:00pm-10:00pm

Phone: 217 333-3619

Business & Economics Library Help 

Business & Economics Library Website & Other Databases

  • Use drop down menu to locate other resources 

Business & Technology Quick Search

  • Searches Engineering and Business databases at the same time.  Click on links for those that turn up search results to take you directly to the database where the articles are located 

Housekeeping

Do's and Don'ts

 DO's...

When possible, check more than one source to validate your strategy or your recommendation that contains facts

Split up research on the team, it's easier if only one or two to do it if research are those team member's strengths

Use at home the databases

Use your library/information specialists for help if your company permits, especially if your team's project is directly related to your job 

E-mail BEL (bel@library.uiuc.edu) for help if you get stuck .  If your question is very specialized, it will take some time to help formulate a strategy and get back to you ; don't expect a response right away, and give the librarians time to e-mail back if they need clarification about your query.

Keyword searching in the main search box is fine for starting out, but if there are subject links in the results that look relevant,  follow those links, along with database fields in order to narrow down your search results

Think of synonyms and technical terms in addition to jargon or buzz words 

  

DON'TS

The databases here are not for job projects or sales prospects, team project is one for work-related; databases your company subscribes to are to be used for work purposes; the ones presented are for academic/learning (not for profit) purposes only and it is considered a conflict of interest.  It will be tempting, but please don't do it.

Even if your company is paying for you to attend the program, they are paying for the instruction and facility, not for using databases for your job or company projects because your company should be paying commercial rates (rightfully so) for the resources. (If they can't afford these databases, then locate an information broker to do the searches for cost efficiency who knows how to extract the data needed.)

Vendors know very quickly when there are too many downloads on a particular area or from their database in general.  We are alerted to such exploitations and illegal uses. 

Any passwords obtained are not for your company colleagues, assistants, friends, etc, especially on market research report ones; if someone else uses them and they are caught using them illegally, UIUC loses access, can be sued, and lose its reputation with the database vendor for unlawful use.  Take the Vegas approach: what happens here stays here. 

 To reinterate, vendors know pretty quickly when there are too many downloads on a particular area or from their database in general.

Subject Resources

Yoo-Seong Song's picture
Yoo-Seong Song
Contact:
Room 205 LER Building

217-333-8021