Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Classics Series Gateway: Introduction

Welcome to the Classics Series Gateway. The University of Illinois Library is home to one of the world's greatest collections of materials related to Classical Studies and to closely allied fields, including Archaeology, Patristics, and Medieval Studies. Intended as a convenience for scholars and as a useful introduction to graduate and advanced undergraduate students, this LibGuide brings together major series of primary texts, translations, monographs, and essay collections (including conference proceedings and Festschriften) in Classical Studies, broadly considered. The field depends critically on these ongoing series and editorial projects, which consequently form the heart of the Classics Collection. Each entry includes a description, typically from the publisher, together with links to the UIUC catalog record, the publisher's website, and, where applicable, to online versions. More entries will be added on a continual basis, and the guide will ultimately include an additional listing for catalogs of inscriptions, artifacts, manuscripts and papyri, etc.

  • The series are organized into different categories (e.g. primary texts, monographs, etc.), each with its own tab. Within these categories, each series appears in alphabetical order. Each book cover and series title links directly to the library catalog record, which provides current information on all the volumes belonging to a given series, including their physical location within the library system, and whether they exist in print, online, or both.

  • Click on the red label icon () to go to the publisher's website, which will often have additional information on the history and purview of the series, its editorial board, and forthcoming volumes. 

  • If a series has an online version, or has volumes that can be found online, you will see at least one accompanying lock icon. An unlocked icon () indicates that our online coverage is open-access. Simply click on the icon to be taken directly to the site. A locked icon () means that authentication is required. Click on this icon to log in and access these resources.

  • Please note that if you are off-campus, you must be affiliated with the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign to access these online resources. Because of licensing agreements, our subscriptions cannot be shared with other institutions, including those in the I-Share Consortium and even the other campuses of the University of Illinois System. However, any patron can access online resources from the many public computers in the University Library itself. 

  • If items are available only in print, you can request individual book chapters or essays to be scanned and sent to you, using our DocExpress service. Affiliated patrons can use this LibGuide itself to make the request. Simply click on the "DocExpress" tab and follow the instructions. Scholars from other institutions should directly contact the Classics Librarian, David Morris (dmorri9@illinois.edu), with any requests. Please note that we cannot scan whole books through this service.

Classics Library Collection

Classics Library Collection at the Literatures and Languages Library's picture
Classics Library Collection at the Literatures and Languages Library
Contact:
225 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 333-2220
Website
Social:Twitter Page
Subjects:Classics