Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Cataloging Services: Using Voyager

Acquisitions & Cataloging Services

Voyager Preferences

Voyager defaults and preferences are specific to your logon and the particular machine you're working on. Defaults and preferences will not follow you as you move from one machine to another. If you are using somebody else's machine, you will need to set your own preferences even if they have already set theirs.

Different cataloguing units may have different preferences, especially for location, call number hierarchy, and item type and status. If in doubt, please check with your unit supervisor.

These settings are defaults.  They may be changed at any time while you are working depending on the needs of individual records and specific situations.

Preferences

To configure Session Defaults and Preferences in the Voyager Cataloging Module, select Options > Preferences from the top navigation bar.

General Tab

Check the box for "On," except as indicated; don't check for "Off."

Holdings/Item Default Location Location for holdings or item records created during a cataloging session. Select the location you use most often.
Call Number Hierarchies Depends on location:  Dewey, LC, USDOC.
Bibliographic Import/Replace Profile OCLCConditional.
Authority Import/Replace Profile AuthReplace.
Delete records from work files once saved to database On
Delete records from import file once saved to database On
Add a subfield "a" to a new field On
Display MARC views maximized On

Validation Tab

Check the box for "On"; don't check the box for "Off." Most options on this tab should be unchecked.

Cataloging Formats OCLC
Bypass MARC validation Off
Bypass MARC21 character set validation Off
Bypass Decomposition of accented characters for MARC21 Off
Bypass ISBN Validation Off
Bypass ISSN Validation Off
Bypass Authority Control Validation Off
List All Errors or Show Errors One at a Time List all the errors
Display All Headings Off
Heading Types -- Name On
Heading Types -- Title Off
Heading Types -- Name/Title Off
Heading Types -- Subjects On
Heading Types -- Subdivision On
856 Link Servers Leave all blank

Work Flow Tab

Check the box for "On"; don't check the box for "Off."

Retain Last Search (set to Off if you want to choose a default search type) On  
Automatic truncation for non-keyword searches On
Display bibliographic record directly if search results in only one title On
Always create a holding when adding holdings to a bib Off
Display item record directly if item retrieve results in only one item On
Sequence new items at top  (for monographic cataloging) Off
Sequence new items at top (for serials cataloging) On
Sequence new e-items at top Off
Check for duplicate item barcodes On
Suppress confirmation message upon successful save Off
Update permanent location of attached items when MFHD is saved to the database Off
Update item type of attached items when MFHD is saved to the database Off

Item Defaults Tab

Item Type Select as appropriate (for monographs, usually BOOK 16/4 WKS) See a list of commonly used Item Type Defaults 
Temp Loc Select as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Temp Type Select as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Status Select as appropriate (default is usually In Process)
Stat Category    Select as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Enum Select as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Chron Select as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Year Select as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Caption Select as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Free text Select as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Spint Select as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Copy 1
Pieces

1

Self Check Magnetic Media

Checked

Self Check Sensitize Checked

Folders/Files Tab

Click on the box with ... at the end of each line to see available folders and files.

Templates -- Bib Set as appropriate (default is usually C:\ voy2k1g\Catalog\Template\Bib.tem)
Templates -- Hldg

Set as appropriate (default is usually C:\ voy2k1g\Catalog\Template\Hold.tem)

Copies of standard templates modified for either monographic or serial catalog havebeen added to g:\AcqCatPres\Cataloging\Voyager\Template.  Any or all templates may be copied to the template folder on c:

Templates -- Auth Set as appropriate (default is usually C:\ voy2k1g\Catalog\Template\Auth.tem)
Folders -- Work Set as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Folders -- Template C:\ voy2k1g\Catalog\Template\
Folders -- Import Set as appropriate (usually h:\Export\ or C:\Export\) (See also Setting up Connexion to Voyager Export)
Work Files -- Bib Set as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Work Files -- Hldg Set as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Work Files -- Auth Set as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Save to Local File -- File Set as appropriate (default is usually blank)
Character Set None (grayed out)

Mapping Tab

Expected Character Set of Imported Records -- Local Import    MARC21-UTF8   
MARC Mapping for OCR Data Leave blank

Colors/Fonts Tab

Recommendations -- you may select others. The default text color is black; selecting different back colors allows for quickly differentiating what type of record you're seeing. Make sure to set the color for suppressed records in search results so that they are easily identified.

MARC Views (Variable Fields) -- Bibliographic

Back color: blue

MARC Views (Variable Fields) -- Holdings

Back color: green

MARC Views (Variable Fields) -- Authority Back color: pink
Font -- Name Arial Unicode MS
Font -- Size 12 point or larger
Font -- Bold Yes
Row Marker Symbol Any
Record Hierarchy -- Bibliographic Back color: light blue
Record Hierarchy -- Item Back color: yellow
Record Hierarchy -- Holdings Back color: green
Record Hierarchy -- Bound With Back color: white
Global Heading Change Hierarchy -- Level 1: Old Heading Back color: white
Global Heading Change Hierarchy -- Level 2: New Heading    Back color: white
Global Heading Change Hierarchy -- Level 3: Auth Heading Back color: white
Search Result Colors -- Suppressed Records Back color: medium blue 

RDA Toolkit Tab

User name / Password Optional. If you have an individual login set up for the RDA Tookit, enter the user name and password here.