Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Cataloging Services: Holdings Records (MFHDs)

Acquisitions & Cataloging Services

Anatomy of a serial MFHD

A MFHD for a serial title is made up of the following fields:

  • 852 field -- indicates location (holding library + call number) and copy number
  • 853 field -- establishes caption and pattern for the basic bibliographic unit
  • 854 field -- [not used at Illinois] establishes caption and pattern used for supplementary material
  • 855 field -- [not used at Illinois] establishes caption and pattern used for indexes
  • 863 field -- enumeration and chronology for the basic bibliographic unit
  • 864 field -- [not used at Illinois] enumeration and chronology for supplementary material
  • 865 field -- [not used at Illinois] enumeration and chronology for indexes
  • 866 field -- summary statement for the basic bibliographic unit
  • 867 field -- [not used at Illinois] summary statement for supplementary material
  • 868 field -- [not used at Illinois] summary statement for indexes

852 field

The 852 field establishes the title's location, including:

  • 1st indicator -- corresponds to classfication used (F2 for options)
    • 0 = LCC
    • 1 = Dewey
  • ‡b -- library location code (Ctrl+l for list of locations)
  • ‡k -- call number prefix, if required by book size or collection
  • ‡h -- class number
  • ‡i -- cutter number
  • ‡t -- copy number
  • ‡x -- staff-only note, including a "(Marked by...)" note indicating marking pattern
  • ‡z -- public notes (repeatable)

853 field

The 853 field establishes the caption and pattern for the basic bibliographic unit, and it corresponds to the linked 863 fields.

  • 1st indicator
    • 0 = cannot compress or expand
    • 1 = can compress but not expand
    • 2 = can compress or expand
      • Local policy: use 2
  • 2nd indicator
    • 0 = captions verified, all levels present
    • 1 = captions verified, all levels may not be present
    • 2 = captions unverified, all levels present
    • 3 = captions unverified, all levels may not be present
      • Local policy: use 3
  • ‡8 -- field link and sequence number
    • should be 1 when a single pattern is used
    • when multiple patterns are used, the value in ‡8 should match the first digit in ‡8 of the corresponding 863 fields
    • never use "0"
  • The remaining subfields of the 853 field are used to establish the levels of enumeration and/or chronology used for the specific title and their captions (i.e., what displays in the OPAC):
    • ‡a - ‡f -- captions for 1st - 6th levels of enumeration
      • ‡a is always required
    • ‡i - ‡l -- captions for 1st - 4th levels of chronology
      • if no enumeration, chronology takes over enumeration subfields
      • captions for chronology should be placed in ( ) so they do not display in the OPAC
      • months and seasons are represented in field 853

Examples of 853 field

  1. One level of enumeration + one level of chronology:
    853 23 ‡8 1 ‡a v. ‡i (year)
     
  2. Two levels of enumeration + one level of chronology:
    853 23 ‡8 1 ‡a v. ‡b no. ‡i (year)
     
  3. Two levels of enumeration + two levels of chronology:
    853 23 ‡8 1 ‡a v. ‡b no. ‡i (year) ‡j (month)
     
  4. Two levels of chronology (no enumeration)
    853 23 ‡8 1 ‡a (year) ‡b (month)
     
  5. One level of chronology (no enumeration)
    853 23 ‡8 1 ‡a (year)

854 & 855 fields

The 854 and 855 fields establishes the caption and pattern for supplementary material and indexes respectively. 854 fields should be linked to 864 fields, and 855 field linked to 865 fields. Both carry the same indicators and subfields as field 853.

Local Policy: Do not use 854 or 855 fields in serial MFHDs.

863 field

The 863 field presents the enumeration and chronology for the basic bibliographic unit, corresponding to the pattern created in the appropriate 853 field. For serials, there should be a separate 863 field for each bound volume.

  • 1st indicator
    • blank = no information provided
    • 3 = summary of holdings at the first level
    • 4 = detailed holdings, accurate to all levels of enumeration and chronology
      • Local policy: use 4
  • 2nd indicator
    • 0 = compressed, display is generated
      • Local policy: use 0
    • 1 = uncompressed, display is generated
    • 2 = compressed, use textual display
    • 3 = uncompressed, use textual display
  • ‡8 -- field link and sequence number, with pattern: ‡8 [linking number].[sequence number]
    • the linking number should correspond to the whole number in the appropriate 853 field, e.g., "1"
    • the sequence number dictates display order of volumes in the OPAC
      • newer volumes have smaller values and appear at the top of the list
      • generally use even numbers to allow for later insertions if needed
  • The remaining subfields of the 863 field are used for the levels of enumeration and/or chronology used for the specific title:
    • Subfields should correspond to the established pattern in the linked 853 field
      • ‡a - ‡f -- 1st - 6th levels of enumeration
        • ‡a is always required
      • ‡i - ‡l -- 1st - 4th levels of chronology
        • If no enumeration, chronology takes over enumeration subfields

NOTE: For 863 fields to display, an 853 field needs to exist and the sequence pattern needs to match.

864 & 865 fields

The 864 and 865 fields present the enumeration and chronology for supplementary material and indexes, respectively. Each field is repeatable and separate fields should be used for individual volumes.

The 864 fields should be linked to and correspond to the 854 field, and the 865 fields should be linked to and correspond to the 854 field.

Local Policy: Do not use 864 or 865 fields in serial MFHDs. Supplements and indexes are accounted for in 863 fields.

866 field

The 866 field presents the summary statement of volumes held for the basic bibliographic unit.

  • 1st indicator (field encoding level)
    • blank = no information provided
    • 3 = Holdings level 3, indicating field contains summary enumeration and chronology information
    • 4 = Holdings level 4, indicating field contains detailed enumeration and chronology information
      • Local policy: use 4
    • 5 = Holdings level 4 with piece designation, indicating field contains detailed enumeration and chronology information and an identifying number for the physical piece in ‡a (Textual holdings)
  • 2nd indicator -- should be "0"
  • ‡8 -- field link and sequence number; should be "1"

Local Policy: Every serial with a standing order needs an 866 field indicating holdings history.

867 & 868 fields

The 867 and 868 fields present the summary statements for supplementary materials and indexes, respectively. The University of Illinois does not currently use 867 or 868 summary fields.