Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Content Access Management (CAM): Holdings Records (MFHDs)

MFHD policies


Copy-specific notes

Information describing unique aspects of a specific copy should be added to the catalog in the holdings record (MFHD) rather than in the bibliographic record. Information that describes all copies will remain in a bibliographic general note in field 500. The copy-specific note should be in the appropriate 5XX field of the MFHD, per the examples below. The library's previous policy was to place all copy-specific notes in the 562 field, with gift and replacement copies noted in the 852 $x. If you are unsure of which field should be used for a particular note, please contact the CAPT Catalog and Metadata Working Group.

The following notes are the most commonly used at Illinois:

541 - Immediate Source of Acquisition Note

Used to record information on the immediate source of acquisition for the described materials. Field 541 should only be used for gifts, replacement copies, and materials purchased with special funds.

Public gift notes should be used if the donor has worked with the library to request their name be included in the record; general gifts should use the private note.

Indicators:

1st indicator (Privacy):

# – No information provided
0 – Private
1 – Not private

2nd indicator is undefined.

Subfields used:

$a – Source of acquisition
$c – Method of acquisition
$d – Date of acquisition

Examples: for public notes

541 1# $c Gift; $a Professor Joseph L. Love; $d 2014.

541 1# $c Purchased; $a Acquired with support from the University Library Friends Donations; $d 2017.

Examples: for private notes

541 0# $c Gift; $d 2017.

541 0# $c Replacement copy; $d 2017.

If a single volume of a multi-set volume is a gift, designate the volume in $3:

541 0# $3 v.5 $c Gift; $d 2017.

541 1# $3 v.2 $c Gift; $a Professor Joseph L. Love; $d 2014.

561 - Ownership and Custodial History

Used to record information concerning the ownership and custodial history of the described materials from the time of their creation to the time of their accessioning, including the time at which individual items or groups of items were first brought together in their current arrangement or collation. Not intended for recording source of acquisition, which should be recorded in field 541.

Field 561 should generally not be used for the Library’s general collections. If you have a project for which you think field 561 is appropriate, please contact the CAPT Catalog and Metadata Working Group.

562 - Copy and Version Identification Note

Used to record information that distinguishes the copy(s) or version(s) of materials held when more than one copy or version exists or could exist.

Examples of when such notes would be warranted include: information about the piece being a specified number of a limited edition; an autographed copy; or slight variations in printings, such as an offprint of a larger work, or missing pages.

Example: a specified number of a limited edition

Bibliographic record: 500 ## $a Limited edition of 300 copies.
MFHD: 562 ## $a Number 37 of 300 numbered copies.

Example: an autographed copy

562 ## $a Autographed by the author, dedicated to ...

Example: slight variations in printing, missing pages, etc.

562 ## $a Missing p. 33-36.

Example: Promotion & Tenure Bookplates (physical bookplates)

562 ## $a University of Illinois Library bookplate: In honor of the Promotion of XXX, COLLEGE, to RANK, YEAR

Example: Bound-withs (multiple titles bound together into a single physical item)

For volumes with 3 or fewer titles bound together, include the following note in the 562 field, with brief citations for each title:

562 ## $a Bound volume includes X titles: Author last name, Author first initial. Title proper 1. Place of Pub. : Publisher, Date -- Author last name, Author first initial. Title proper 2. Place of pub. : Publisher, Date -- Author last name, Author first initial. Title proper 3. Place of Pub. : Publisher, Date.

For volumes with 4 or more titles bound together, use note:

562 ## $a Bound volume includes X titles.

In each example, X should be replaced with the number of titles in the bound volume.

563 - Binding Note

Binding information intended primarily for use with antiquarian materials, rare books, and other special collections. Not intended for serials bound together after publication for shelving and storage purposes. 

Field 563 should generally not be used for the Library’s general collections. If you have a project for which you think field 563 is appropriate, please contact the CAPT Catalog and Metadata Working Group.

583 - Action Note

Field 583 is being used to record notes of various retention initiatives in which the Library is participated. Questions about existing 583 notes should be directed to the CAPT Catalog and Metadata Working Group.

Multiple volumes

A single-volume bibliographic record should not be changed to a multi-volume record or vice versa (even if just in Voyager). Either find an appropriate record in OCLC Connexion or send the piece to original cataloging.

Copy numbers

Copy numbers are associated with call numbers rather than libraries or total number of holdings.

Therefore, the first holding record with a Library of Congress call number will be copy 1 regardless of how many other holdings there are that have been classified with Dewey or another call number scheme.

For additional information, see Record Relationships in Voyager.

Added volumes & copies

When adding volumes, if a library with a holding record for the third copy has volumes 1 and 2 receives volume 4, it will be “cop.3” regardless of whether the holdings records for the first three copies have volume 4.

Missing copies

When an item in the library's collection is missing, the "Missing" item status should be added to the item record. Generally, the MFHD location and holding location should not be changed, and MFHDs should not be suppressed.

Upon a library's request, a holding record for a missing item will only be suppressed if other copies are available. MFHDs should not be suppressed if it is for the only copy in the library.

Routine maintenance occurs to change MFHD locations for copies that have been missing longer than 5 years to "Missing - Long Term" (mis-nc). MFHDs with this location are automatically suppressed from the OPAC.

Withdrawn copies

When materials are withdrawn from the library's collection, they should be marked as "withdrawn" in the Voyager cataloging module. Bibliographic, Holdings, and Item records should not be deleted from the catalog.

To mark a copy as withdrawn in Voyager:

  1. In the MFHD, change location to wdn-nc
    • Note: when withdrawing single items from a serial run or monographic set, a new MFHD must be created with the wdn-nc location
  2. In the MFHD, verify Suppress from OPAC is checked on the MARC tab.
    • Note: this should happen automatically when the MFHD is saved with the wdn-nc location
  3. In the item record:
    • Add “withdrawn” to the Item Status
    • Change the Perm. Loc. to Withdrawn [noncirc]
    • There is no need to change the Item Type

If the last copy of an item is withdrawn -- per sign off from the Library Office of Collections, per CDC policy -- then the bibliographic record should be suppressed from the system tab and UIU holdings should be removed from OCLC.

For more information, see the library's Retention Policies in the Digital Age.