Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Content Access Management (CAM)

Classification by Collection

The following table presents the current classification system(s) used by each collection at the University of Illinois Library.

Library Classification
ACES-Funk (includes CPLA Reference & Resouce Center) DDC
Architecture & Art DDC
CAS (Bookstacks) - exceptions listed below DDC
Stacks - Asian LC Classification
Stacks - all new literature LC Classification
Stacks - LABO LC Classification
Center for Children's Books S-Collection
Chemistry DDC
Classics DDC
Communications DDC
Conservation Lab DDC
Engineering-Grainger DDC
History, Philosophy, and Newspaper (includes African American Research Center)    DDC
International & Area Studies

LC Classification for:

  • All area studies except Slavic-language materials
  • IAS New Books Shelf
  • All English-language materials

DDC for:

  • Slavic language materials
Law LC Classification
Literatures and Languages LC Classification; DDC for non-circulating
Map LC for maps; DDC for other material
Mathematics DDC
Music and Performing Arts LC Classification
Prairie Research Institute DDC
Rare Book and Manuscript Library DDC
Reference, Research, and Scholarly Services DDC
Residence Hall Libraries DDC
Scholarly Commons LC Classification
Social Sciences, Health, and Education

LC Classification for new & re-classed materials
DDC if:

  • added copy where previous copy is already in Dewey
  • added volumes (of serials or sets) where previous vols are already in Dewey

Special classifications for S-Collection and Curriculum Collection

Sousa Archives & Center for American Music LC Classification
Undergraduate LC Classification; DDC for periodicals
University Archives DDC
University High School DDC; local classification for Fiction and Graphic Novels   
Veterinary Medicine DDC