Full-text database of Chinese journals published in China. The journals are categorized under ten series; UIUC subscribes to four and also owns the archives for three of these: literature/history/philosophy (Series F, including archive), politics/military affairs/law (Series G, including archive), education & social sciences (Series H, including archive), and economics & management (Series J). China Academic Journals database includes articles that were published in or after 1994; the archives contains articles that were published through 1993.

People's daily newspaper (1946-)

A collection of 12 English-language papers published in Shanghai, Beijing and Guangzhou between 1832 and 1953. ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.

It covers around 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 25,000 different kinds of periodicals published between 1911 and 1949. As an important part of the historical archive, this database has significant academic and historical values. It not only helps reproduce the unique historical features of the ROC (1911~1949) and restore the historical memory, but also enriches the digital resources of periodicals so as to facilitate users to conduct academic research on the history of the ROC (1911~1949).

China, America and the Pacific explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Sourced from twelve North American libraries that include the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum and the Massachusetts Historical Society, China, America and the Pacific offers unique insights into the history of North American trade. Coverage includes the Old China Trade, the Pacific Northwest fur trade, the whaling industry and the development of Pacific trading centres such as Hawaii. Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives document this fascinating history

China local gazetteers currently contains over 20,000 volumes of Chinese chorographic books, covering 31 provinces and autonomous regions. The database provides detailed geographic and historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district administration units. Contents cover historical as well as contemporary facts related to the geographical areas, concerning general surveys, economy, public finance, governance, public security, urban and rural development, agriculture, industry, transportation, business, natural science, social science, education, culture and sports, public health, etc.

This project provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.

Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library's Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. In addition, China: Culture and Society features a host of secondary resources, including scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, mini guides, and editors' choices from the collection.