LibGuides: History 498A: The Room Where it Happens: U.S. Presidential Leadership in the Long 19th Century (Stretching to 1913): Periodicals

Article Indexes

Use article indexes to identify articles from journals and periodicals. When you search an article index, you are searching bibliographic records that describe articles; you are not searching the actual articles. For many of the citations you retrieve in an article index, the database will also provide direct access to the article.

The key distinction between an article index and a full text database is that, in an article index, not every article you identify will be available online. In a full text database, on the other hand, all the articles are available online.

Article indexes will also contain records for other types of documents, such as dissertations, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

America: History and Life
The main article database for researching American history. Use to find journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history. Includes some links to full text. Complements Historical Abstracts. Indexes publications from 1964-present.
Periodicals Index Online
Identifies articles from over 5,500 humanites and social sciences periodicals. Searches are by title keyword only--no subject headings. Complements Periodicals Archive Online. Indexes publications from 1665-present.
more...less...
Formerly called Periodicals Contents Index or PCI.
Eight Centuries
Formerly Nineteenth Century Masterfile. The database originally combined "Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1786-1922"; "Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907"; and several indexes for general and religious periodical literature of the late 19th century. Date coverage varied by file. The database now cross searches dozens of additional sources, including digital collections, with coverage now 1100-1960.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Identifies articles from scholarly journals. In addition to searching for articles on a known topic, this database allows you to search for citations. So, if you already have an article, you can discover what other resources cite that article, as well as the resources cited by the article itself. This can be helpful when doing academic research, although the search interface itself can be somewhat confusing. Ask a librarian if you need help! Indexes publications from 1975-present.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Indexes articles from over 1,000 periodicals and journals in the humanities and social sciences. Digitized version of H.W. Wilson's Humanities Index and Social Sciences Index. Indexes publications from 1907-1984.
International Index to Black Periodicals (1900-present) and Marshall Index (1940-1946)
Identifies articles on all aspects of Black studies, in journals from North America, Africa, and the Caribbean. Part of the Black Studies Center. Includes the Marshall Index, which covers 1940-1946. Indexes publications from 1902-present. In the current version of Black Studies Center, the International Index to Black periodicals and the Marshall Index have been combined into a single browsable file called "Black Literature Index," and are no longer separately searchable.

Full Text Article Databases

JSTOR
The full text of over 2,800 scholarly journals, with coverage back to the first issue for each, in some cases as far back as the 17th century. Recent issues of most journals in this database are embargoed by journal publishers, so to be certain you are also identifying the most recent publications, use an article index like Historical Abstracts or America: History, and Life.
Project MUSE
Over 600 scholarly journals, with emphasis on recent ten years of issues. Originally intended as a complement to JSTOR.
Periodicals Archive Online
- This link opens in a new window
1665-present. Over 700 European and American periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
About 170 periodicals published by, for, or about African Americans. Part of the Archive of Americana.
American Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940. Over 1,000 titles. Probably the single most important digital collection of early American periodicals. Includes the sub-collection American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries, which is particularly strong in trade and labor periodicals.
more...less...
Formerly called American Periodicals Series Online.
Making of America (No longer maintained)
1840-1900. 109 books (in 267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes). Collection has been retired and contents migrated to HathiTrust.
Godey's Lady's Book, 1830-1898
Complete run of the influential women's magazine, with full color reproductions of all plates originally printed in color.
The Harper's Bazaar Historical Archive
- This link opens in a new window
1867-present. Full color, searchable facsimiles of every issue. Supports browsing by product name.
Harper's Weekly Historical Archive, 1857-1912
The popular, American illustrated weekly magazine. One of the few major American periodicals not included in American Periodicals Online. Includes searchable subject indexes, with separate subject access to the illustrations. 1913-1916 available in HathiTrust.
The Nation Historical Archive
1865-present. Facsimile edition of the influential, American liberal news weekly.
Woodhull and Claflin's Weekly, 1870-1876
Campaign newspaper published by Victoria Woodhull and Tennie Claflin to support Woodhull's candidacy for President of the United States. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.