Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

German Culture & Media: Historical Newspapers

Center for Research Libraries

The  Center for Research Libraries in Chicago has an extensive collection of German newspapers in microfilm. To find them, search CRL's catalog for "newspapers" and then under the tab for newspapers, search by the title of the newspaper. To get access to the microfilms, order them through the Library's Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery.

Free Digitized Newspaper Titles

Titles from Germany and Austria are both represented below.

Berner Intelligenzblatt (1834-1922)

Bonner Volkszeitung (1882-1906)

Coburger Zeitung (1854-1935)

Freiburger Zeitung (1784-1943)

Fürstenfeldbrucker Zeitung (1928-1939; 1942; 1944-1945)

Grafinger Zeitung (1923-1925; 1928-1938; 1940-1945; 1949)

Henneberger Zeitung (1872-1877; 1880-1881; 1883; 1885-1919: some gaps)

Hennefer Volks-Zeitung (1892-1939)

Hochheimer Stadtanzeiger (1911-1932)

Ingolstädter Anzeiger (1920/22 - 1933)

Jenaer Volksblatt (1890-1941)

Kaiserl. Reichs-Ober-Post-Amts-Zeitung zu Köln (1763-1794)

Krakauer Juedische Zeitung (1898-1900) - in German.

Muensterisches Intelligenzblatt (1765-1849)

Staufener Wochenblatt (1875-1978)

Sudetendeutsche Zeitung (1951-1955)

Volksstimme : Tageszeitung der Sozialdemokratischen Partei im Regierungsbezirk Magdeburg (1895-1932)

Wiesbadener Tagblatt (1906-1914)

Wiesbadener Badeblatt (1867-1933)

Woechentliche Anzeigen fuer das Fuerstenthum Ratzeburg (1859-1894)

Die Zeit (1946-)



Digitization of German Newspapers

HAGENAH, Ulrich (2015) Newspapers in German Language – Progress in Digitisation and AccessibilityPaper presented at: IFLA WLIC 2015 - Cape Town, South Africa in Session 80 - News Media. In: IFLA WLIC 2015 - Cape Town, South Africa  http://library.ifla.org/1265/ 

Newspapers at UIUC Libraries

The UIUC Library has a very extensive collection of newspapers, both current and retrospective, in a variety of formats, including hard copy, microfilm, and digital reproductions. Not all of them are included in the online catalog. Many, but not all, online newspapers can be found through the "Online Journals & Databases" search on the Library Gateway

When searching for a particular newspaper title, try searching it first in the online catalog. Look for more than one record for each newspaper, as our holdings may consist of a combination of hard copy and microfilm, for example, and there may be a separate catalog record for each format. Most of these will be located in the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library, but in some cases, the material will be found in another part of the UIUC Library.

Some newspapers that are not found in the online catalog may be included in the Library's separate online database of newspapers. This database is searchable by place of publication and by keywords from the title. For German studies, try indicating a particular German-speaking country, or simply search for all German language newspapers.

A further resource for finding German newspapers is the Center for Research Libraries. Their collections are particularly strong in German-American newspapers (Historical newspapers published in the United States in German language). You can search for these publications in the CRL catalog

Free Digitized Newspaper Collections

Titles from Germany, Austria, and other German-speaking countries are represented below.

Bayerische Zeitungen (1848-1850) - newspapers are organized by region (Altbayern, Schwaben, Franken)

digiPress - Digitalisierte Zeitungen Bayerns

Digitale historische Tageszeitungen (GenWiki) - a major genealogy wiki provides links to various digitized newspapers. The listing is organized by region.

Das digitale Zeitungsarchiv der Landesbibliothek Dr. Friedrich Teßmann - digitized newspapers from the Alpine region. Several titles are from the south Tyrol region (newspapers in German and in Italian)

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung - retroactively digitized papers from the 19th and 20th centuries. 

Heidelberger Zeitung - 19th and 20th century coverage of newspapers from Heidelberg.

Internetarchiv jüdischer Kulturbund (1806 - 1938) - covers over 100 Jewish periodicals in German. A highly recommended resource!

Liechtensteinische Landesbibliothek - full-text searching of various 19th and 20th century newspapers from Liechtenstein.

Pfalz/Zeitungen (WikiSource)

Pressemappe 20. Jahrhundert (1900–1945) - review dates and actual titles on this one.

Provinzialbibliothek Amberg: Digitale Sammlung - includes the Amberger Zeitung as well as other fascinating materials.

Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - list of digitized newspapers, various 19th and 20th century titles. Left navigation bar includes a special section for daily newspapers from the GDR.

Universitaet Bonn - assortment of digital newspapers from Bonn, Bergisches Land, etc.