Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Translation Studies: Organizations

Resources for Translators

Government

Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center

  • Military language program
  • Language program for officers and support personnel of the U.S. foreign affairs community
  • The Bureau of Labor Statistics provides an overview of these career paths and future in the United States.

For information about testing to become a contract interpreter or translator with the U.S. State Department, contact:

  • U.S. Department of State, Office of Language Services, 2401 E St. NW., SA-1, Room H1400, Washington, DC 20520-2204
National Virtual Translation Center
  • U.S. Government interagency established in February, 2003 " for the purpose of providing timely and accurate translations of foreign intelligence for all elements of the Intelligence Community."
  • Language positions include translators, editors, verbatim reporters, interpreters and proofreaders.

 

Professional Organizations

American Literary Translators Association

The American Literary Translators Association (ALTA), founded in 1978 at The University of Texas at Dallas, bridges cultural communication among countries and languages through the art and craft of literary translation. ALTA is the only organization in the United States dedicated solely to literary translation. ALTA promotes literary translation through the publication of Translation Review, Annotated Books Received, the ALTA Guides to Literary Translation, the ALTA Newsletter, and through an annual conference.

American Translators Association

The mission of ATA is to benefit translators and interpreters by promoting recognition of their societal and commercial value, facilitating communication among all its members, establishing standards of competence and ethics, and educating both its members and the public.

Association for Machine Translation in the Americas

AMTA is an association dedicated to anyone interested in the translation of languages using computers in some way. This includes people with translation needs, commercial system developers, researchers, sponsors, and people studying, evaluating, and understanding the science of machine translation (MT) and educating the public on important scientific techniques and principles involved.

BDÜ – the Association of Professional Interpreters and Translators

The Federal Association of Interpreters and Translators (Bundesverband der Dolmetscher und Űbersetzer e.V. (BDÜ)) is Germany's largest association representing professional linguists. With more than 7,000 members, the BDÜ represents 75% of all professionally organized translators and interpreters in Germany.

Chicago Area Translators and Interpreters Association

CHICATA was established in 1987 as an independent professional association of individual translators and interpreters. At present, CHICATA has over 170 members, working in about 50 languages and over 120 language combinations and numerous fields of specialization. The CHICATA website is an essential resource for potential clients seeking translation or interpretation services, as it provides detailed information on members' languages, education, fields of specialization, and other relevant data. Potential clients can search the CHICATA Searchable Directory.

European Society of Translators

Founded in Vienna in 1992, the Society now has members in 46 countries. It functions as a network for research, a forum for exchange, and a center for research resources.

International Federation of Translators

FIT (the Fédération Internationale des Traducteurs/International Federation of Translators) is an international grouping of associations of translators, interpreters and terminologists. More than 100 professional associations are affiliated, representing over 80 000 translators in 55 countries. The goal of the Federation is to promote professionalism in the disciplines it represents.

International Medical Interpreters Association

An online clearinghouse for information on medical interpreting and translating.

National Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators

The National Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators' mission is to promote quality services in the field of legal interpreting and translating. Our members play a critical role in ensuring due process, equal protection and equal access for non-English or limited English proficient (LEP) individuals who interact with the judicial system.

PEN American Center Translation Committee

The PEN American Center is an association of writers working to advance literature, defend free expression, and foster international literary fellowship. Its translation committee's website offers information on translation awards, a space to recommend books for translation, and a translation handbook.

Translation Studies Portal with a Focus on the Arab World, Turkey and Iran

The Translation Studies Portal provides a forum for translation scholars and students in the Arabic-speaking world, Iran and Turkey. Its mission is to contribute to capacity building in the region in the area of translation and interpreting studies. Towards this end, it provides a range of resources and links which are updated regularly.

This initiative is made possible thanks to a grant from the British Academy. Although the portal has a particular focus on the Arab World, Iran and Turkey, many of the resources available on the site will be of interest to scholars of translation and interpreting worldwide.

Translator's Home Companion is intended to serve as a focal point of information about resources available on the Internet and elsewhere for translators, interpreters, and all those interested in the arts and crafts of foreign languages

World of Interpreters

The International Association of Conference Interpreters is the only global association of conference interpreters, and brings together over 3,000 professionals from every continent.