LibGuides: History 300: Film and the Cold War: Periodicals

If You Have a Citation to a Journal Article

If you have a citation to a specific journal article, then you should first check to see if we have online access to that journal. Search for the title of the journal (not the title of the article) in:

University of Illinois Library Catalog: Journal Search
A catalog of the Library's journal collection, with emphasis on online journals and periodicals. Most useful as a catalog of e-journals, but you can also use it to locate print copies.

If we don't have online access to the journal, then you should check to see if we have a print copy. Once again, search for the title of the journal (not the title of the article), only this time search in the:

University of Illinois Library Catalog
Use the Library Catalog to identify books, journals (but not journal articles), microform collections, and digital collections owned by the University of Illinois. The Library Catalog is the primary tool for exploring the collections of the University of Illinois Library, the second largest academic library collection in the United States. In the Library Catalog you can search for books by subject, and you identify the location within the Library of a particular book or journal. Books and journals are organized in the library by subject. Each item is assigned one or more subject headings and a unique call number. Subject headings are standardized terms from the Library of Congress. The call number is based on the Dewey Decimal Classification or Library of Congress Classification. Boolean operators must be capitalized if used: AND, OR, NOT. Interface automatically truncates some search terms unless Boolean operators are used within the same query line. You can also browse catalog records by call number, creating a "virtual shelf browsing" experience.

If we don't have a copy of the journal (or the specific journal issue) you need here, then request your article using:

ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan)
If the item is not available in the Illinois catalog and it is not available through I-Share, then your next stop will be Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery. Login to Interlibrary Loan using your NetID and password. If you are requesting a book, then select "Request a Book". If you are requesting a journal article, then select "Request a Photocopy". Be sure to fill out as much of the form as possible. You'll be notified by email when your item is ready to be picked up. If you requested a journal article, it will probably be sent to you electronically as a PDF.

Article Indexes

Use article indexes to identify articles on a topic. In some cases, you will be able to link directly from the article database to the full text of the article. In other cases, you will need to search the title of the journal (not the author or title of the article) in the online catalog to find out where it is located.

“Article databases” include indexing and abstracting sources, both online and “print” (or paper), as well as the online full-text sources, and those online databases offering a mix of abstracts and full text.

Good starting points for this course would be:

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
Four separate files searchable through a single interface: International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current), and: International Index to Television Periodicals (1979-current), International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections, and Bibliography of FIAF Members' Publications.
Film and Television Literature Index
Identifies journal articles, book reviews, and articles from trade publications, with some coverage of books, book chapters, and reference works. Indexes publications from 1914-present.
America: History and Life
The main article database for researching American history. Use to find journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history. Includes some links to full text. Complements Historical Abstracts. Indexes publications from 1964-present.

Other article databases that might be useful for your research in this class are:

MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
1920-present. Identifies articles, books, dissertations on literature, languages, film and folklore.
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) with HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
- This link opens in a new window
Two key article databases for Hispanic American, Latin American, and Caribbean Basin studies. Multi-disciplinary. Identifies journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, and Hispanics in the United States. While HAPI is an article index, PRISMA is a full text collection of scholarly journals. Together they cover a combination of peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journals and periodicals. HAPI Indexes publications from 1966-present.
Left Index
Identifies articles written from a leftist political, economic, social or cultural perspective. Includes some retrospective coverage of historically significant left wing publications like the People (New York, N.Y. : 1891). Indexes publications from 1982-present.
Alternative Press Index
Identifies articles from alternative newspapers, magazines and journals. Indexes publications from 1969-present. Alternative Press Index file actually only covers 1991-present. To add 1969-1990, you must click "Choose Databases" above search box, and select Alternative Press Index Archive as well.
Gender Watch
Newspapers and periodicals with an emphasis on women and gender issues. Indexes publications from 1970-present.
Ethnic News Watch
- This link opens in a new window
1959-present. Newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from ethnic, minority and native presses.

Browsing Journals

Although article indexes provide relatively easy access to journals, at some point in your research, it might make sense simply to browse key journals. For this class, you might want to browse some of the following journals:

Film and History (907.05 FI)
Film History (791.430905 FI)
Historical Journal of Film, Radio, and Television (302.23 H629)
Cineaste (Q.791.4305 CINT)
Cinema Journal (791.4305 CIN)
Journal of Popular Culture (301.205 JO)
Visual Communication (302.2305 VI)
Media History (070.9 St9421)

Digital Periodical Collections

JSTOR
The full text of over 2,800 scholarly journals, with coverage back to the first issue for each, in some cases as far back as the 17th century. Recent issues of most journals in this database are embargoed by journal publishers, so to be certain you are also identifying the most recent publications, use an article index like Historical Abstracts or America: History, and Life.
Project MUSE
Over 600 scholarly journals, with emphasis on recent ten years of issues. Originally intended as a complement to JSTOR.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
- This link opens in a new window
1880- . Major consumer and trade magazines, from their first issues through recent years. Includes: Variety; Picturegoer; Box Office; Back Stage; Stage; Billboard; Vox; Spin; Rolling Stone; Hollywood Reporter; and more. Emphasis is on Anglo-American publications.
more...less...
Library has modules one (Music, Radio and The Stage), and two and three (Cinema, Film, and Television).
Periodicals Archive Online
- This link opens in a new window
1665-present. Over 700 European and American periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

There are several online-only e-journals you might want to browse, even though most of these are not “core” or key journals. These include: