Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Finding and Using Images

This guide introduces resources which can help you search for images to use in your projects and research.

U of I Digital Collections

The Digital Collections of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library provide web access to many of the Library's signature holdings for students, scholars, and the general public. They include digitized books, photographs, newspapers, maps, and other research materials.

While there may be some overlap between this and the collections hosted in CARLI, some collections (such as the Carl Sandburg Collection) are available only through the Digital Collections. 

U of I Archives

The University of Illinois Archives includes office records, publications, and personal papers from the University and the Urbana-Champaign campus. Series descriptions and supplementary finding aids (box and folder listings) are available through a searchable database. U of I is also the repository for the American Library Association Archives and other professional associations.

The Archives also has digitized a portion of its collection, which can be searched or browsed. However, the image that you need may not have been digitized, in which case you should contact the archives and ask if a digital copy can be made.

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive is best described as a digital library that hosts a variety of media such as image, video, audio, text, software, and archived web pages. It is also known as the Wayback Machine. The Internet Archive provides access to digitized books created by U of I, as well as books created by other contributing libraries.

Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection

Link to Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection

The Digital Newspaper Collections contain digital facsimiles of Illinois newspapers, such as historic Illinois newspapers, historic agriculture newspapers, and college newspapers from across the country. Users can filter their searches to contain pages with images. This is a great source for historic advertisements and images of events. 

CARLI

Link to Carli Digital Collections

The CARLI Digital Collections is a repository for digital content created by member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI). It guarantees researchers access to cross-institution and cross-collection searches.