LibGuides: History 200C: The 1970s: Newspapers

Digitized Newspapers

For the most complete and up-to-date information on finding newspapers, whether current or historical, please visit our guide to Digitized Historical Newspapers.

The below are some of the larger collections of newspapers that include issues form the 1960s:

Ethnic News Watch
- This link opens in a new window
1959-present. Newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Independent Voices
1951-2015. Over 1,000 alternative press newspapers and periodicals. Currently includes nine subcollections: African American; student protest; feminist; military; LGBTQ; Latino/Latina; literary; American Indian; and radical Right. Click here to view a complete title list for Independent Voices.
African American Newspapers, Series I and II: 1827-1998
A wide ranging collection that complements our largest collection of digitized African American newspapers, ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers. While ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers covers the major, metropolitan black newspapers of the twentieth century, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides access to a broader range of publications, especially the black press of America's smaller cities, and the few extant issues of the earliest black newspapers, most of which were previously available only on microfilm or in smaller digital collections scattered around the Internet. Click here to view a complete title list for African American Newspapers Series I and II. Part of America's Historical Newspapers and the Archive of Americana.
America's Historical Newspapers
Hundreds of titles, with especially strong coverage of the eighteenth- and nineteenth-centuries, but also strong coverage of the early twentieth-century. Includes the following sub-collections: Early American Newspapers, Series I through VII, X, XIII, and IV (1690-1922); Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980); African American Newspapers, Series I-II (1827-1998); Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1977); and Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876). Newspapers were primarily sourced from the American Antiquarian Society and the Center for Research Libraries. Part of the Archive of Americana.
The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper and Periodical Databases (formerly Gale NewsVault).
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Mostly scattered issues of over 300 Hispanic-American newspapers. Purports to be largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the nineteenth and twentith centuries. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project" collection at the the University of Houston. Click here to view a complete title list for Hispanic American Newspapers. Part of America's Historical Newspapers and the Archive of Americana.
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper and Periodical Databases (formerly Gale NewsVault).
ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
The major black newspapers of the twentieth century. Click here to see a complete list. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Dozens of major metropolitan newspapers, like the New York Times, the Chicago Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, major African American newspapers like the Chicago Defender, and more. Especially strong coverage of the 20th century. Click here to see a complete list.

Newspapers & Periodicals on Microfilm

The University Library has hundreds of newspapers on microfilm, with coverage back to 1960 and earlier. The best way to check for availability of specific titles, or to browse by date and place of publication, is to consult the Library's Newspaper Database. Below are some newspaper collections on microfilm that you might find especially useful for this class.

The University Library has hundreds of "alternative" press periodicals on microfilm and in print. The best way to check for availability of specific titles, or to browse by date and place of publication, is to consult the Library's Newspaper Database.

The Library also has a large collection of labor union periodicals, both in print and on microfilm. Begin browsing in the Online Catalog at call number 331.805-. Socialist and communist periodicals (e.g. The Daily Worker) are classified at 335- .

Underground Press Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un2
Most titles from the United States and Canada. With printed guide. Coverage: 1963-1985. Supplemented and continued by the Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection, the University of Missouri Underground Newspaper Collection, the Alternative Press Collection, and the Underground Press Collection Alternative Press Center Supplement, for all of which see below. Click here to view a complete title list for the Underground Press Collection.
Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un24
Supplements the Underground Press Collection (see above): adds missing issues from 88 titles in the original collection, and an additional 178 titles from the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace. With printed guide. Click here to view a complete list of titles in the Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection.
University of Missouri Library Underground Newspaper Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un1m
Most titles from the United States and Canada. Adds 120 titles to those in the Underground Press Collection (see above). Coverage: 1960s-1970s. With printed guide. Click here to view a complete title list for the University of Missouri Library Underground Newspaper Collection.
Underground Press Collection. Alternative Press Center Supplement
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un23
Further supplements the Underground Newspaper Collection (see above). Library has the complete collection (units 1-8) . Each unit has its own printed guide. Click here to view a complete list of periodicals in the Alternative Press Center Supplement.
Champaign-Urbana Underground Press Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un1ic
Coverage: 1960s-1980s.
Military Newspapers: Dougherty Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 M599
Coverage: Mexican War-Vietnam War. Titles from all branches of the U.S. military. Emphasis on World War II. Almost 2,500 titles. With printed guide.
San Francisco / Bay Area Gay and Lesbian Serial Collection by a joint project of San Francisco/Bay Area Gay and Lesbian Historical Society and the University of California
Call Number: FILM 306.76605 SA52
61 titles on 96 microfilm reels. Coverage: 1953-1989. Click here to view a full list of titles in the San Francisco / Bay Area Gay and Lesbian Serial Collection.
Herstory : Microfilm Edition of the International Women's History Periodical Archive by Women’s History Research Center
Call Number: FILM 396 H439
Covers mostly the 1960s and 1970s. Journals, newspapers, and newsletters of women's liberation organizations, as well as women's civic, religious, professional, and peace organizations. The collection was issued in five successive parts. Consult the completed guide to understand the complicated arrangement.
The Right Wing Collection of the University of Iowa Libraries
Call Number: FILM 320.52 R44
Collection of periodicals and ephemera. Coverage: 1918-1977.
American Indian Periodicals in the Princeton University Library
Call Number: MFICHE 970.00497 Am354 and MFICHE 970.00497 Am354ser.2
Publication Date: 1981-1986
Titles listed in the accompanying guide, and also separately in the Online Catalog and UIUC Newspaper Database.
Contemporary Newspapers of the North American Indian
Call Number: FILM 970.0049705 CO
Titles listed in the accompanying guide, and also separately in the Online Catalog and UIUC Newspaper Database.
The Underground and Alternative Press in Britain
Call Number: MFICHE 301.2 Un2
Coverage: 1961-1984. Note that the yearly releases are not confined to publications from that calendar year. Also on microfilm (FILM 301.2 UN2). With printed Guide.
The Left in Britain
Call Number: 016.320942 SP44L
Collects the serial publications of over 30 left-wing British organizations active between 1904 and 1997. The link above is to the guide, available at Illinois. Continued by The Left in Britain during 1973 and 1974. The film itself is available from the Center for Research Libraries.
The Radical Right and Patriotic Movements in Britain: Primary Source Material on the Radical Right and Patriotic Movements in Britain by William Pidduck
Call Number: 320.942085 P612r
Continued by The Radical Right and Patriotic Movements in Britain during 1975. Guides only. Request film through Interlibrary Loan.