Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

PS386 - International Law: Home

A Guide to Help Develop Case Briefs

Finding Great Resources for Research

Introducing the University Library

Welcome to the Library Guide for PS 386 - International Law.  This was developed to assist you as you work on your case brief assignment.  We are here to help you so do not hesitate to contact us:

Lynne Rudasill, Global Studies Librarian - rudasill@illinois.edu

Law Library Reference Phone: (217) 244- 0614 E-mail: law-refdesk@illinois.edu

Finding Casebooks in the University Library

Good search terms include:

Case books 

International Law

You can also try

Commercial Law

Human rights law

See below for some resources from the University Library Catalog, or search further.

If you have a specific journal or database you want, search in Online Journals and Databases.

Legal Resources for the Project

Hein Online -  This is the premier historical database for your legal research.  You can enter your terms or case citations in the search box or you can select the  "All Collections" dropdown menu at the top left of the page to get more specific.  Hein Online provides access to the following resources that may be useful:

  • International and Non-US Journals
  • Foreign and International Law Research Database
  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (not all are in English)
  • International Law Association Reports
  • United National Law Collection

If you are searching using the legal citation and not finding what you want, also try a keyword or two.

Oxford Public International Law - This site brings together a large number of titles for "one-stop" shopping.  It provides flexible searching for both cases and terms.

International Law Resources in Print

The Law Library contains materials on several international, foreign and comparative law topics. Student should search the library catalog to find materials that may be helpful for their research.

Subject Guide

Lynne Rudasill's picture
Contact:
306 International Studies Building
Office Hours:
Monday - 2:00-4:00 
Wednesday - 10:00-noon
217-265-6879
Website