Group 1

Find an available copy of the following book:

Oman, John Campbell. Religious Festivals and Caste System in India during 19th Century. Delhi: Khama Publishers, 2003.

Be prepared to tell the class where you would find an available copy of this book.

Group 2

Find a copy of the following journal article:

Hardaway, Roger D. "Race, Sex, and Law: Miscegenation in Tennessee." Journal Of East Tennessee History 74, (January 2002): 24-37.

Be prepared to tell the class how where you would locate a copy of the journal article.

Group 3

Find an available copy of the following book:

Geiger, Andrea. Subverting Exclusion: Transpacific Encounters with Race, Caste, and Borders, 1885-1928. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2011.

Be prepared to show the class where you would find an available copy of the book.

Group 1

Examine the digital collection linked here:

http://guides.library.illinois.edu/go.php?c=14203625

Answer the following questions about the collection. Use the answers to prepare a brief tour of the collection for your classmates:

1. What is the title of this digital collection?
2. What types of documents are in the collection?
3. How is the collection organized?
4. What types of keyword searching does the interface support (e.g. keyword searching of titles, of the document text, of document creators, etc.)?
5. Does the interface support browsing of the collection? If so, what types of browsing does the interface support (e.g. browsing by subject, by title, by creation date, etc.).
6. Find a document that could be used as a primary source for a paper in this class.
7. Identify the document.
8. Identify the document type?
9. What person, persons, or organization created this document?
10. What is the provenance of this document?
11. What historical event or phenomena is this document evidence of?

Group 2

Examine the digital collection linked here:

http://guides.library.illinois.edu/go.php?c=14203431

1. What is the title of this digital collection?
2. What types of documents are in the collection?
3. How is the collection organized?
4. What types of keyword searching does the interface support (e.g. keyword searching of titles, of the document text, of document creators, etc.)?
5. Does the interface support browsing of the collection? If so, what types of browsing does the interface support (e.g. browsing by subject, by title, by creation date, etc.).
6. Find a document that could be used as a primary source for a paper in this class.
7. Identify the document.
8. Identify the document type?
9. What person, persons, or organization created this document?
10. What is the provenance of this document?
11. What historical event or phenomena is this document evidence of?

Group 3

Explore the digital collection linked here:

http://guides.library.illinois.edu/go.php?c=14203325

1. What is the title of this digital collection?
2. What types of documents are in the collection?
3. How is the collection organized?
4. What types of keyword searching does the interface support (e.g. keyword searching of titles, of the document text, of document creators, etc.)?
5. Does the interface support browsing of the collection? If so, what types of browsing does the interface support (e.g. browsing by subject, by title, by creation date, etc.).
6. Find a document that could be used as a primary source for a paper in this class.
7. Identify the document.
8. Identify the document type?
9. What person, persons, or organization created this document?
10. What is the provenance of this document?
11. What historical event or phenomena is this document evidence of?