To find newspapers at the University of Illinois Library, consult our guide:
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) specializes in collecting research resources on behalf of its member libraries. They have especially strong collections of foreign newspapers and foreign government publications. Because the University of Illinois is a member library, you can request resources from CRL through our Interlibrary Loan department.
You can search the CRL collections the same way that you would the collections of any other library, by using its catalog:
You might also want to explore their website.
This link opens in a new windowIf you identify a dissertation or theses that is not available online, you can request a copy using Interlibrary Loan.
Archives will contain both unpublished primary sources and published primary sources, although the emphasis is on the former. You will usually have to visit an archive in person in order to use their collections--archives almost never send documents from their collections through interlibrary loan. To locate archives that might hold collections relevant to your research, try one of the following tools:
Some archival collections, like the Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, have been microfilmed, and often those microfilm collections will either be available to you here at the University of Illinois Library, or else through interlibrary loan. To find these archival collections on microfilm, use WorldCat, as described above, and add to your search query Format=Microform:
The University Archives and the Student Life and Culture Archives here at the University of Illinois might also hold relevant primary sources, depending on your topic. Below are some research guides to their collections.
Use the Illinois History and Lincoln Collections (IHLC) to find sources (both published and unpublished) on Illinois history, as well as librarians who specialize in researching Illinois History.
The IHLC holds over 1,500 cubic feet of unpublished primary sources. Highlights of the the unpublished primary source collections include records of political leaders, lawyers, businessmen, labor leaders, clergymen, soldiers, scientists, architects, and historians, as well as religious groups, civic organizations, societies, and social clubs.
The lHLC also has almost 35,000 volumes of published sources, including histories (both state, regional, county, and municipal as well as histories of organizations and people), city directories, atlases (state, regional, county, and municipal), travel books, pamphlets, and children's literature on state history.
The International and Area Studies Library (IAS) should be your destination for finding subject specialist librarians on the histories of the following world regions:
Some research guides from the IAS that might be useful for this class include:
Digital collections can be collections of published sources, unpublished sources, or both. To find digital collections, the best place to begin is our guide:
Below are some more research guides that might be of interest to some in this class. Many of the guides are course guides, but can easily be used as general research guides as well.
