LibGuides: History 498A: The Age of Democratic Revolutions 1776-1825: Newspapers

Finding Newspapers

For the most complete and up-to-date information on finding historical newspapers, please visit our guide:

Find Newspapers
Guide to finding newspapers at the University of Illinois Library, with an emphasis on historical newspapers and digitized, historical newspapers.

In order to find out if we have a particular newspaper, or to find out if we have a newspaper for a particular city or town, you can search our database of newspapers held at the University of Illinois Library:

University of Illinois Library Newspaper Database
A catalog of newspapers at the University of Illinois Library. Lists newspapers in all formats--print, microfilm, and digitized. You can search for newspapers by title, or identify newspapers by place of publication, date of publication, or by the newspaper's subject or intended audience. Only includes newspapers that are either the original print publication, or else facsimile reproductions of the original print publication.

Digitized Newspaper Collections

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of titles, with especially strong coverage of the earliest American newspapers, but also strong coverage of the early 20th century. Includes the following sub-collections: Early American Newspapers, Series I through VII (1690-1922); 20th Century American Newspapers (1923-1993); Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980); African American Newspapers, Series I-II (1827-1998); Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1977); and Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876). Part of the Archive of Americana.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of titles.
Caribbean Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Series I features 81 newspapers from 22 countries: Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, the Virgin Islands, and also Bermuda. All newspapers are in Western European languages: English, Spanish, French, and Danish. Digitized from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society. Part of the World Newspaper Archive.

Latin American Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive)
335 newspapers from twenty-two countries in nineteenth century and early twentieth century Latin America. The nineteenth century runs tend to be spotty, while twentieth century runs are nearer complete (and the collection contains no issues past 1923). Click here to view a complete title list for Latin American Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive). Part of World Newspaper Archive.
more...less...
Be aware that much of the OCR in this collection is very low quality, and keyword searches are therefore not reliable.
Gallica: Les principaux quotidiens
French newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Le Gazetier universel: Ressources numériques sur la presse ancienne
Federated collection of early modern French newspapers (pre-1789) drawn from over 30 newspaper digitization projects.
Le Gazetier révolutionnaire: Ressources numériques sur la presse révolutionnaire
Digital collection of French language newspapers published during the French Revolution.
British Library Newspapers
Newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland, and Wales, 1732-1950, with strongest coverage of the nineteenth-century. Especially valuable for its collection of provincial newspapers, many of which are here digitized through 1950. Click here to view a title list. Library has Part I: 1800-1900 (47 newspapers, including the Illustrated Police News, the Morning Chronicle, and the Graphic, as well as radical papers like the Northern Star, and the Examiner); Part II: 1800-1900 (22 newspapers, including the London London Standard and the Morning Post); Part III: 1741-1950 (35 newspapers, including the Leeds Intelligencer, the Hull Daily Mail, the Northampton Mercury, the Poor Law Unions’ Gazette, and the Westmoreland Gazette); and Part IV: 1732-1950 (23 newspapers including Stamford Mercury to what is possibly the oldest magazine in the world still in publication, the Scots Magazine, the 23 newspapers including the Aberdeen Journal and Dundee Courier). Part of Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper and Periodical Databases (formerly Gale NewsVault).

Relevant Newspapers

Below are some newspapers in the HPNL's newspaper database that cover this time period. Many of them are available in digital format as well as on microform, which you can view in the HPNL. Historical newspapers can be a great source of published primary source documents.

Boston Evening Post
Boston Gazette
Boston News-Letter
Connecticut Courant
Maryland Gazette
Massachusetts Spy
New York Gazette and Weekly Mercury
New-York Journal
New-York Weekly Journal
Pennsylvania Gazette
South Carolina Gazette
Virginia Gazette
Monituer Général de la Partie Française de Saint-Domingue* - "Moniteur General of the French Party of Santo Domingo" - Haiti
Bulletin Officiel de Saint-Dominque* - "Official Bulletin of Santo Domingo" - Haiti
Journaux éphéméres de la période de la révolution* - "Ephemeral newspapers of the period of the revolution " - France

*French language newspapers