LibGuides: Colombia: Media

Media in Colombia

Resources at the library:

Newspapers:

The History and Newspaper Library holds over issues for over 50 years of the newspaper El Tiempo. This paper is avaliable in microfilm and printed versions.

Film:

Colección de Cine Silente Colombiano: This is a collection of silent films published in 2012 by Proimagenes Colombia and the National Ministry of Culture. It includes 10 disks with pioneer films of Colombian cinematography produced in the 1920s.

Fictional films and documentaries available through I-Share: Includes about 60 Colombian films and documentaries. Additional resources listed under "Foreign fims-Colombia" available here.

Gabriel Garcia Marquez: Includes over 70 films and documentaries related with García Márquez' work, available either at the library or through I-Share.

Library Catalog:

Browse a variety of titles available at the University Library catalog concerning mass media in Colombia. These titles cover subjects as political issues of journalism, gender, democracy, education, and others.

Selection from the Undergraduate Media Collection

The Embrace of the Serpent by Ciro Guerra
Call Number: DVD PN1995.9.B55 E4373 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Colombian film directed by Ciro Guerra, nominated to the 2016 Oscars for Best Foreign Language Film. The film addresses the encounter between Karamakate, an Amazonian shaman and last survivor of his people, and two scientists who work together over the course of 40 years to search the Amazon for a sacred healing plant. It addresses conflicts of colonial and racialized power, diverse approaches to knowledge, and spirituality
Gabo: the creation of Gabriel Garcia Marquez by Justin Webster
Call Number: DVD PQ8180.17.A73 G336 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Biographical film about the life of Nobel Prize winner Gabriel Garcia Marquez and his most famous novel, One Hundred Years of Solitude.
Acquired with support from the Campo Elías Palencia Memorial Fund.
Colección cine silente colombiano by Acevedo Vallarino, Arturo; Nieto, Jorge.
Call Number: DVD PN1997.A1 C6543 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This is a collection of silent films published in 2009 by Proimagenes Colombia and the National Ministry of Culture. It includes 10 disks with pioneer films of Colombian cinematography produced in the 1920s.
Perro come perro (Dog eat dog) by Carlos Moreno
Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .D64 2009
Publication Date: 2007 (c.2009)
Colombian film renowned for portraying the complex intertwining of crime lords, legal businessmen, and the authorities in the city of Cali during the early 2000s.
La virgen de los sicarios (Our lady of the assassins) by Barbet Schroeder, Fernando Vallejo
Call Number: DVD PN1997 .V57446 2002
Publication Date: 2000
Colombian film based on the novel of the same title, international recognized and controversial for portraying gangs in the city of Medellin during the drug cartel era.
La estrategia del Caracol by Sergio Cabrera
Call Number: VIDREC PN1997 .E886 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Colombian film directed by Sergio Cabrera, winner of several national and international prizes. The film addresses conflicts and abuses experienced in housing by low-income families, and the power of collective action.

Colombian Media - External Websites

Directorio de Medios Colombianos: This site lists major Colombian media including TV, radio, newspapers and magazines.
El Revistero Virtual: Includes all major Colombian magazines covering a varied range of subjects.
Historical collection on Colombian Media: A special historical collection on Colombian Media is available online through the National Library of Colombia.
Independent Media: Some relevant independent sites on political journalism are LaSillaVacia and Pacifista.

Library Media Resources on Latin America

Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window
Latin America in Video offers quality original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and much more.

Provided by Alexander Street: This database provides online access to documentaries produced about Latin America and the Caribbean. You can search by country or by specific title. Access is provided to the campus community only.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy provides students access to one of the largest collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable.

Search for hundreds of films from different genres, including documentary and fiction. This database includes a section of "Latin American Studies" in Global Studies & Languages. You can also use the countries or regions as search terms. Access is provided to the campus community only.

Latin American Film Festival - Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies (CLACS)

Urbana-Champaign: This festival has been organized annually by the University of Illinois Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies (CLACS) since 2010. From the 30 to 35 films received each year, six to eight are selected for screening. CLACS currently has a small collection of the films that have been screened throughout the festival's history. For more information, contact Dr. Angelina Cotler, Associate Director CLACS, who organizes of this film festival and read more on the Glocal Notes blog.