14 million books, periodicals, and government documents digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and research libraries. About 2,500,000 of these works can be read online (because they are public domain works, and therefore freely accessible).
The full text of over 1,500 scholarly journals, with coverage back to the first issue for each, in some cases as far back as the 17th century. Recent issues of most journals in this database are embargoed by journal publishers, so to be certain you are also identifying the most recent publications, use an article index like Historical Abstracts or America: History, and Life.
Periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. Many periodicals reproduced in full color. Series 1: New Readerships (emphasizing women, children, humour, leisure, and sport). Series 2: Empire (emphasizing travel, anthropology, economics, evangelism, colonialism).
British Foreign Office Japan correspondence, 1856-1923; despatches from United States consulates in China, 1790-1906; despatches from United States consulates in Siam, 1856-1906; despatches from United States consulates in Java, 1818-1906; despatches from United States consulates in Japan, 1856-1906; despatches from United States consulates in the Philippine Islands, 1876-1899; despatches from United States consulates in Sumatra, 1853-1898; despatches from United States consulates in Vietnam, 1889-1906; despatches from United States consulates in Korea, 1886-1906; despatches from United States consulates in Singapore, 1833-1906; despatches from United States Ministers to China, 1843-1906; despatches from United States Ministers to Japan, 1855-1906; despatches from United States Ministers to Korea, 1883-1905; despatches from United States Ministers to Siam, 1882-1906; notes from the Chinese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1868-1906; notes from the Japanese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1858-1906; notes from the Korean Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1883-1906; notes from the Siamese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1876-1906; records relating to the United States Surveying Expedition to the North Pacific Ocean, 1852-1863; selected records of the United States Consulate in Siam, 1856-1912; selected records of the United States Legation in China, 1849-1931; selected records of the United States Legation in Japan, 1855-1912; and Methodist Episcopal Church missionary correspondence (China, Japan, Korea), 1846-1949.
18th to early 20th centuries. Ship logs, manuscripts, business records, newspapers, books, maps, realia, ephemera, paintings, photographs, and other illustrative documents, organized around 18 research themes: Cultural Exchange; Arts and Artifacts; Religion, Faith, and Philosophy; Social Life; Education; Crime; Employment and Labor; Health and Welfare; Race Relations; Travel and Tourism; Exploration and Discovery; The Natural World; Migration and Immigration; Politics, War, and Diplomacy; Trade and Commerce; Regulation and Legislation; Transport and Communication; and Advertising and Consumption.
English-language documents from London University's School of Oriental and African Studies, and from the British Library. Includes diaries, journals, correspondence, atlases, travel narratives, missionary periodicals, government documents, scrapbooks, and more.
Books, serials, pamphlets, incunabula, and manuscripts from Harvard University's library and museum collections, documenting nine major themes in the history of medicine: Cholera Epidemics in the 19th Century; the Great Plague of London, 1665; the Boston Smallpox Epidemic, 1721; "Pestilence" and the Printed Books of the Late 15th Century; Spanish Influenza in North America, 1918–1919; Syphilis, 1494–1923; Tropical Diseases and the Construction of the Panama Canal, 1904–1914; Tuberculosis in Europe and North America, 1800–1922; the Yellow Fever Epidemic in Philadelphia, 1793.
Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online. The African Mail, 1845-1917; the African World and Cape-Cairo Express, 1905-1913; the Annales de l'Extreme Orient et de l'Afrique, 1878-1891; the Bulletins du Comite de l'Afrique francaise, 1891-1914; a collection of colonial African newspapers from the British Library; despatches from United States consulates in Africa, 1818-1906; the Deutsche Kolonialzeitung, 1884-1922; correspondence and entry books from the British War and Colonial Department, 1794–1843, related to the exploration of Africa; a collection of books from the Kolonialbibliothek at the Universitätsbibliothek J.C. Senckenberg at Goethe Universität, Frankfurt am Main on German colonization of Africa; colonial censuses of Africa, 1820-1931; papers of Joseph Chamberlain relating to Africa; Methodist Episcopal Church African missionary correspondence, 1846-1912; travel narratives of African exploration; official statistical registers and blue books of Cape Colony; official statistical yearbooks and censuses of the Natal Colony; Report of the Boundary Survey between British Bechuanaland and German Southwest Africa of 1898-1903; selected Africa collections from the Bodleian Library; selected British Cabinet papers on Africa; selected Colonial Office files on Africa; selected Dominions Office files on Africa; selected Foreign Office files on Africa; selected India Office records on colonial Africa; selected War Office files on Africa; selected maps and plans files on Africa; memoirs of colonial Africa; and Yale Divinity School periodicals on Africa.
Maps, photographs, field notes, letters, manuscript materials, and publications from Harvard University's library and museum collections, documenting 34 expeditions from 1626-1953. Includes documents from expeditions to the Arctic, Antarctica, Africa, and South America.
Books have both Library of Congress Subject Headings, and Gerritsen Subject Terms. Somewhat more than half of the material in the collection is in English, and the remainder is in German, French, and other European languages.
Letters, diaries, journals, account books, printed guidebooks, published travel writing, paintings, sketches, and maps that document the experiences of Englishmen and Englishwomen who took the Grand Tour in the Early Modern period.
Cold War era open source intelligence. The bulk of the collection comprises translations of technical reports from around the world, with an emphasis on publications of Communist and Third World nations. In addition to technical reports, the collection includes translated television and radio transcripts, translated newspaper and periodical articles, translated government documents, translated speeches, and translated books. Topics range from science, economics, the military, sociology and the environment to specific events like conferences, congresses, and symposia. For more information on the JPRS, see David Y. Allen's article, "Buried Treasure: The Translations of the Joint Publications Research Service" in Government Publications Review, March/April 1982.
Treatises and monographs, from the collections of Yale, George Washington University, and Columbia. Covers international law, comparative law, foreign law, Roman law, Islamic law, Jewish law, and ancient law.
Books, pamphlets, periodicals documenting the economic history of the West, very broadly defined, including political writings, works on international relations, international trade and commerce, and slavery, travel narratives, legal cases, and government publications. Based on the Goldsmiths’ Library of Economic Literature at the University of London and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at Harvard University, The Making of the Modern World includes more than 60,000 books and 450 journals.
Travel narratives; travel literature; guidebooks; maps; India Office atlases and gazetteers; British Ministry of Defense maps; British Royal United Services Institution (R.U.S.I.) maps; Crace Collection of Maps of London; selected papers on voyages to the East Indies and Asia; King George III Topographical Collection; maps and atlases of North America and the Polar Regions; maps from the American Antiquarian Society; Pacific Railway surveys, 1853-1855: reports of explorations and surveys to ascertain the most practicable and economical route from the Mississippi River to the Pacific Ocean; travel literature of the Ohio River Valley and the American South; and travel and tourist periodicals from the British Library.
The Bauduin Collection of Photographs; British Admiralty Office Photographs; British Colonial Office Photographs; the British Journal of Photography and Annual, 1854-1914; Early Rare Photographic Books from the Northwestern Museum of Science and Industry Collection; Early Rare Photographs from the Victoria and Albert Museum; photographs by David Octavius Hill and Robert Adamson, 1843-1848; 2,100 monographs and 80 periodicals on the history of photography; Japanese photographs of the Bakumatsu-Meiji period; the Meiji and Taisho eras in photographs; portraits of modern Japanese historical figures; photographs from the Royal Archives, Windsor; the Photographic News, 1859-1908; photographs from the India Collection at the British Library; photographs from the National Media Museum in Bradford; photographs from the Royal Photographic Society Collection; photographs from the Science Museum; photographs from the Talbot Collection at the British Library; photographs from the Wellcome Library for the History of Medicine; and records of the Copyright Office of the Stationers' Company: Photographs.
Action Sociale De La Femme Et Le Livre Francaise, 1936-1940; the Suffragette and Britannia: Official Organ of the Women's Party; the Journal of the American National Women’s Trade Union League; the Reply, 1913-1915; the Suffragist, 1913-1921; Votes for Women, 1907-1918; the Woman Worker, 1908-1910; Woodull and Claflin's Weekly, 1870-1876; Our Corner, 1883-1888; British birth control material at the British Library of Political and Economic Sciences; the diaries of Elizabeth Fry, 1797-1845; 8,500 books, 2,000 pamphlets, 117 periodical titles, 80,000 manuscript pages, and 800 photographs from the History of Women microfilm collection; the Mary Braddon archive; the Myrtilla Miner papers; the papers of Carrie Chapman Catt; the papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton; and 18th and 19th century Quaker women's diaries;
Sources from over 200 world's fairs and expositions, with emphasis on 9: the 1851 Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations (London); the 1876 Centennial International Exhibition (Philadelphia); the 1889 Exposition Universelle (Paris); the 1893 World's Columbian Exposition (Chicago); the 1904 Louisiana Purchase Exposition (St. Louis); the 1915 Panama Pacific International Exposition (San Francisco); the 1933/1934 Century of Progress International Exposition (Chicago); the 1939/1940 New York World's Fair; and the 1967 Expo '67 (Montreal). Includes a wide range of document types, such as posters, books, scrapbooks, maps, pamphlets, periodicals, correspondence, diaries, photographs, postcards, sheet music, sound recordings, catalogs, souvenirs, organizational records, and more.
Diaries, letters, postcards, personal narratives, trench literature, maps, scrapbooks, albums, photographs, sketches, paintings, sheet music, cartoons, propaganda, and other ephemera. Together with its companion collection ("Propaganda and Recruitment" and "Visual Perspectives and "Narratives"), it documents the war from a global perspective, covering multiple war fronts (Western Front, Ireland, Italian Front, Eastern Front, Balkans, Gallipoli, Middle East, Africa, Asia, the Pacific, neutral countries), and including documents in over 30 different languages (Afrikaans, Arabic, Belgian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Flemish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Malay, Maori, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slavic, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tamil, Turkish, Ukrainian, Welsh, and Yiddish).
Posters, postcards, diaries, cartoons, photographs, leaflets, pamphlets, instructions for the distribution of propaganda, instructions to military units, extracts from local newspapers, printed reports, minute books, papers of the Ministry of Information, papers of the Kriegspresseamt, newsletters, and tribunal case files. Together with its companion collections ("Personal Experiences" and "Visual Perspectives and Narratives"), it documents the war from a global perspective, covering multiple war fronts (Western Front, Ireland, Italian Front, Eastern Front, Balkans, Gallipoli, Middle East, Africa, Asia, the Pacific, neutral countries), and including documents in over 30 different languages (Afrikaans, Arabic, Belgian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Flemish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Malay, Maori, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slavic, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tamil, Turkish, Ukrainian, Welsh, and Yiddish).
Diaries, letters, books, pamphlets, ephemera, photographs, artwork, artists' commissioning documents, posters, film clips, and realia. Together with its companion collections ("Personal Experiences" and "Propaganda and Recruitment"), it documents the war from a global perspective, covering multiple war fronts (Western Front, Ireland, Italian Front, Eastern Front, Balkans, Gallipoli, Middle East, Africa, Asia, the Pacific, neutral countries), and including documents in over 30 different languages (Afrikaans, Arabic, Belgian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Flemish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Malay, Maori, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slavic, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tamil, Turkish, Ukrainian, Welsh, and Yiddish).
Over 7,000 artifacts--including text, images, audio, and video--drawn from the personal collections of ten British poets of the War. Though the poets and their poetry are the central, organizing principle of the collection, the collection is far more than an archive of literary artifacts. From Oxford University.
Photographs from the rotogravure sections of the New York Times and the New York Tribune. This collection presents higher-quality reproductions than you'll find in the digitized versions of these two newspapers.
Documents from the Special Collections of the Memorial Library at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Emphasis on rescue and relief efforts, but includes propaganda and other aspects of the war as well.