Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Neurosciences Research and Scholarship

This guide provides an access point for library resources and services for research and scholarship in the area of neurosciences. It is intended for use by students and faculty.

Neuroscience Grant Funding Opportunities Calendar

Health-Related Grants & Funding Opportunities

Top Picks - Online Databases for Finding Funding & Fellowships

Foundation Directory Online (FDO)

Foundation Directory Online is a database of the 10,000 largest private and community foundations in the U.S. based on their annual giving. 

Grant Forward (Formerly IRIS)

A searchable database of grant funding opportunities, formerly IRIS (Illinois Research Information Service). 

SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network)/ infoEd

SPIN provides robust searchable database to track funding programs (grants, fellowships, publication subventions, etc.) of government, private and nonprofile funding globally.

  • Anyone can get started using Spin, using the SPIN CLASSIC to run searches for funding opportunities
  • For individuals or institutions who subscribe to SPIN, you can begin your search at: NEW SPIN   
Grants.gov

A searchable database for finding U.S. federal grants and an interface used for submitting proposals. You can search for grants, sign up for email notifications, and apply for grants through this portal.

Foundation Relations - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

A list of foundation funders by interest area. While not exhaustive, it presents a good starting point for identifying funders in your field. As foundations periodically revisit their funding priorities, the most up-to-date program information can often be found on their websites.


Campus Resources for Grants and Funding

Office of Sponsored Programs and Research Administration 

The Office of Sponsored Programs and Research Administration (OSPRA) is a unit under the Office of Vice Chancellor for Research (OVCR). OSPRA interacts with faculty, students, department business staff, University administration, and external sponsor program officers and award negotiators to provide service and support to the University's missions of instruction, research, public service, and economic development. OSPRA is comprised of three divisions: Proposal, Award, and Processing.

Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research

The Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research (OVCR) leads, enables, and supports research initiatives, technology commercialization and knowledge transfer at the University of Illinois. The OVCR has policymaking and oversight responsibility for the research mission and works collaboratively with the academic colleges and other administrative units to lead new research initiatives and to facilitate the ongoing scholarly endeavors of faculty, staff, and students.

Insitutional Review Board IRB

Suite 203, MC-419
528 East Green Street
Champaign, IL 61820
tel: 217-333-2670
fax: 217-333-0405
email: irb@illinois.edu