If you need some background into sociology terms or concepts you may want to consult on of the following:

• CQ Researcher

  Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
• Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law

  A more practical guide that covers law and its everyday effect upon its citizens. Includes landmark cases, profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations; and details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state.
• Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment

  Provides comprehensive coverage of the many topics that encompass current research and scholarship on crime and punishment, including relevant entries on Child Physical and Sexual Abuse, Domestic Violence Courts, Family Strengthening Programs, and Family Violence.
• Encyclopedia of Social Work

  Includes several relevant entries and provides comprehensive references, key words, definitions and examples. Each entry is then related back to practicing social work where identification, assessment and treatments are discussed.
• Encyclopedia of Human Relationships

  Comprehensive interdisciplinary guide to research and theory about human relationships. Includes entries on abuse and violence in relationships, batterers, child abuse, and elder abuse, among others.

• Statistical Insight

  (ProQuest) - Provides government statistics, business, trade, and research information, and private and international statistical information. U.S. government statistics go back to 1973 and private and state sources go back to 1980.
• Illinois Department of Children and Family Services

  Lists child abuse reports and statistics by county and zip code and follows trends in child abuse in the Child Abuse and Neglect Statistical Report.
• U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics

  Provides statistics related to crime and victims, drugs and crime, criminal offenders, the justice system in the United States, law enforcement, prosecution, courts and sentencing, corrections, justice expenditure and employment.

• Child Welfare Information Gateway

A service of the USDHHS, search for or browse publications (articles, fact sheets, reports), Children's Bureau Express articles, related organizations, conferences and events, and more information.

• Elder Abuse (National Institute of Justice)

From the USDOJ's National Institute of Justice, this site provides background information, publications, and web resources on elder abuse. 

• Futures without Violence

A comprehensive resource that links resources covering legislative, public education and international aspects of domestic violence

• Domestic Abuse Project -

DAP publishes the Journal of Intimate Partner Violence Intervention and links relevant information, definitions of violence and first-hand accounts of survivors.

• Institute on Violence, Abuse and Trauma (IVAT)

The institute is responsible for several academic journals and lists several valuable resources.

• National Resource Center on Domestic Violence

A national project stemming from federal and local human services and domestic violence groups.

• Violence Against Women Online Resources

Funded by the USDOJ's Office of Violence against Women, this site has an extensive library of advocacy, legal and scholarly documents.

• WomensLaw.org

Website produce by the non-profit National Network to End Domestic Violence

To locate articles and abstracts on domestic violence and related topics outside of legal resources you can use the same skills and techniques. Remeber to search within the library catalog and other journal-specific collections.

If you are searching within a resource and only find and title entry or abstract look to see is there is a "Discover: UIUC full text linking" box next to your entry. This icon will connect you to those UIUC databases which have a full text of the article or a link to the catalog if it is available in print.  

The "discover" icon looks like this 

Step-by-step guidance is available through the Library's Find Articles Guide.

Suggested Keywords

Here are a few other LibGuides you may find helpful in your research. You can search for more on the library homepage using the 'research guides' tab.

• Family and Domestic Violence
• Children,Culture, & Violence