LibGuides: Whistleblowers: Background Information

Background Information

A whistleblower is a person who exposes alleged misconduct, dishonesty, or illegal activity occurring within an organization either internally to individuals in the organization or externally to outside forces, such as the media or law enforcement. Use the following sources to learn more about whistleblowing and the legal ramifications, social implications, and other issues surrounding it.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Gives overviews of major topic areas (including whistleblowing). Includes articles, lists of other resources, and Pro and Con arguments for most topics.

Encyclopedia of American Law
Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents.
Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
Contains articles including brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, important statutes and cases, profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations, and details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state.
National Survey of State Laws
A state-by-state comparison of current state laws about how they differ and how they're similar. Covers a range of relevant subjects, including information about whistleblower protection laws.
Oxford Reference Collection
Collection of reference resources across a wide variety of topics. Includes information about whistleblowers and laws related to whistleblowing. Entries include a list of sources that assist in additional research about a topic.
Whistleblowers: Incentives, Disincentives, and Protection Strategies
This book deals with the realities of whistleblowing from a business point of view, looking at best practices and protection strategies. It also delves into academic studies on whistleblowers and disincentives.