Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

BADM 199: Action Research and Learning

This resource guide has been created by Becky Smith and Erik Rabain for BADM 199

Industry Resources

The following are tools for researching industries, starting with the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) and North American Industrial Classification (NAICs) codes developed the Census Bureau.   Other resources provide trends and industry profiles.  

Industry Profiles answer the following:

  • What does the industry produce and for whom
  • Who are the major players
  • What are current conditions as well as projections for the future
  • Which are the affiliated trade associations

SIC & NAICS codes

These government tools can help you label products and industries:

Enter industry or product type (not brand name). You may have to follow the broader categories, especially for industry overviews. NAICS is a new system meant to replace the SIC codes. Conversion between SIC and NAICS is available here.

B2B Supplier Catalogs/Directories

A catalog will list the names of businesses/establishments and often by the type of business and/or products.  (similar to a phone directory).  BIS does not have subscriptions to these websites, but they provide enough to develop lists of companies.  

Two major digital directories/websites pertinent for this class assignment:

ThomasNet--American suppliers only.   You can search by product, category, company name.    Prices for the products are not provided, but you will get company name, location, and types of products the company supplies. 

 

 

 

Alibaba--a catalog that provides names of suppliers worldwide and by region.   The searching is a bit different and pay attention to the left side bar in order to narrow your results (See Related Category).  Screenshot below provides a simple way to search.  

 

 

 Price ranges are provided for the products. 

 

 

BCC Research

BCC Research

Provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports. Offers analysis of growth opportunities, market sizing, technologies, applications, supply chains and companies.

Emerging Markets Information Service

To find information: first select a country or multiple countries; then click on company analysis, industry analysis, or country analysis tab; and type the name within search box.

First Research Industry Profiles

IBISWorld

At the main screen choose between logging into the industry reports or procurement reports databases by clicking its corresponding 'Login' button

Within Industry Reports, the simplest way to find industry information is to enter an industry name or NAICS code in the search box and click the magnifying glass just to the right of it.

Procurement reports can be searched by keywords or company name

Frost & Sullivan

You can enter a search or use the filters on the right to find content for selected Industries, Regions, Countries or Deliverable Types.

Click here for database help.

Gartner Research

Gartner Research is one of the foremost authorities on high tech trends.   Most of the reports are to give you a snapshot about a company or technology trend.   

Mergent Online

Mergent Online

Includes U.S. Company Data and International Company Data. Rich textual descriptions offer a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock.
(Annual reports for most companies are available back to 1996.)

To find specific industry reports, go to Mergent Online and search Investext (located in the red box). 

While in Investext, select the date and in the box below the dates, select any criteria. You can select different criteria and in this example, a region and keyword are searched. Once the criteria has been selected, click on view on the right hand side. 

 

The search results showed a research report on the sensor market. To view this research report, click on the PDF file on the right hand side. In this report, there is a PESTLE analysis, which could be beneficial to your research. 

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. 

Company & Industry How-to Search YT Playlist

BIS has created a series of YT clips on how to find information on companies using some of the databases mentioned in this guide.  They are designed to get you started in determining if the company is public, private, subsidiary, plus ways to compile list of companies within industries.   The Industry YT's are how to search for basic industry reports.  

Click HERE to go to the BIS Playlist on YT.   The clips are very short and will aid you in navigating through these complex databases.  Remember that a lot of these reports are not found for free on Google, Yahoo, or Bing.