Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

BADM 199: Action Research and Learning

This resource guide has been created by Becky Smith and Erik Rabain for BADM 199

ABI/INFORM Complete

Access this resource directly through the UIUC proxy link above or  through the link under Key Databases on the left side of the BIS homepage .

This is a comprehensive database of scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers, books, reports, dissertations, and working papers. To get database helpclick here and then click on various links in the left-hand navigation column such as 'Basic Search' or 'Advanced Search: Database Specific.'

For example, to search for industry statistics and reports: Search for an industry name as a subject or enter/look up NAICS code; choose "statistics/data report" as "document type";  click search.

Business Source Ultimate

To search for a topic, use the Advanced Search page and enter your search terms, using the drop-down menus to specify where those terms should appear inside each item in the results list. To explore topics in relation to each other, click on the Visual Search tab.  Enter a keyword, such as strategy or employment, into the Find box and hit the Search button

One of the more popular sources to search in BSU is Harvard Business Review.  Here are some easy steps to search from the digital shelf.  See screenshot below to give you an idea how this works, example is an article entitled "Eager Sellers & Stony Buyers" which was published in June 2006:

  • Type in the article title in the first search box (Eager Sellers & Stony Buyers) and select TI (title) from the Drop-down menu of database fields next to the search box
  • Below is a Publication Box.  Type Harvard Business Review
  • To the right side is Published Date, Choose Month and Year drop-downs for the year the article was published.  For this article, 
  • Click the Orange Search button on the screen

 

The search result should look like this (see screenshot below).  

 

The first one is the article itself, including a link to the PDF to download.  The second result (and there may be more, but not for this particular article) is a Letter to the Editor.  Sometimes there is a follow-up editorial note as well, also in PDF. 

You can search for other journal articles replicating these steps.  If you have trouble finding the article, feel free to e-mail the Business Information Services library team at bis@library.illinois.edu. 

 

 

Engineering Village

Engineering Village

Engineering Village is “the information discovery platform for the engineering community.” It includes access to several major literature databases that provide access to scholarly journals, trade publications, patents, government reports, reference books, conference proceedings, and more. Databases included in Engineering Village — Compendex, Inspec, GEOBASE, GeoRef, EP Patents, U.S. Patents, and NTIS.

Ei Compendex covers over 20 million records across 190 engineering disciplines. GEOBASE contains 3+ million earth abstracts allowing users to “review geographical structures, relation to natural resources, and links to local resources including transportation and regional planning.” NTIS contains nearly 3 million bibliographic records for government research reports and more in over 350 subject areas. 

Description courtesy of Grainger Library

LexisNexis Academic Universe

LexisNexis Academic Universe

Provides full text and summaries of articles from over 40,000 newspapers, magazines, journals, wire services, trade journals, etc., in addition to allowing you to generate lists of companies using criteria that you select.

Newsbank/Access World News

NewsBank/Access World News

This resource allows you to search newspapers and limit your searches by geographical area. For example, to limit your search to Illinois, click on the plus sign next to North America on the homepage. Then, select United States and check the box next to Ilinois from the specific list. You can expand this further to limit to a particular region. If you select these limits, your keyword searches will only return results from newspapers in those areas.