Skip to main content
Events & Workshops
About Our Collections
Strategic Initiatives and Research
Make a Gift
Libraries & Hours
Using the Library
Setup & Use My Account
Borrow, Renew, and Request
Using Library Spaces
Study Room Reservations
Access Databases from On and Off Campus
Help & Services
Ask a Librarian
Savvy Researcher Workshops
Databases (A-Z List)
University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Site Navigation Menu
Top Ten Tips
Search this Guide
Graduate Assistant Training: Introduction to Database Searching.
Choosing a Database
Top Ten Tips
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
1402 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL 61801
Top Ten Tips for Tackling Tricky Database Queries
Know your database name.
Are you talking about a specific database or a database provider?
EBSCO is a database vendor.
Academic Search Ultimate is a database.
Use the navigation the database provides.
Avoid the browser navigation!
Use the options provided by the database.
Make sure you are in the right place.
Be certain the database is appropriate for the subject at hand.
Look for similar features.
Multiple search boxes for your keywords and phrases
Multiple search fields (usually in a drop-down menu)
Features that allow you to limit your search
Options to use Boolean operators in your search
Features that allow you to save, print, or e-mail your results
The ability to export citations to a citation management program
Know how to narrow and broaden a search.
Too much information? Look at some of the citations that appear to be on target. Use subject terms associated with these.
Too little information? Think in broader terms. Can a topic be viewed as part of a hierarchy? If so, move up one step.
Use the limit options provided. Date, resource type, language, and more can all be used to focus a search.
Use the help provided.
Look for and use the help options provided in the database.
KISS! Keep it simple, searcher.
Truncation and nesting, etc. are not consistent across databases.
Watch your language!
Avoid library jargon when working with users.
Find the right path to get to the actual source.
full-text access; find the permanent link that always returns to the article.
links which will provide access to articles via other electronic resources.
Need the print source? Get the appropriate source information - source name, volume, issue, date, page numbers, etc.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) >>
Aug 11, 2017 2:23 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem