Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Finding Images: Maps

How and where to find images and moving images online and through library databases.

More Map Resources

Need more in-depth help finding images of maps or looking to see maps in person?

Check out the Map and Geography Library, located in the Main Library.

Need something more interactive than the links to the right?

Try the Harvard Geospatial Librarywhere you can use the interactive map to search for geospatial data.

Looking for something closer to home? Check out UIUC's Department of Geography and Geographic Information Science or the University Consortium of Geographic Information Science at Illinois.

Images of Maps

Afriterra 
The Afriterra Foundation is a not-for-profit archive and library of cartography, collecting and preserving original rare maps of Africa. Searchable by keyword, creator, and date.

David Rumsey Map Collection
This collection contains over 46,000 maps and images and has partnered with the Smithsonian Museum and the San Francisco Airport among others. Contains a searchable collection of high quality digitized maps through the Cartography Associates.

Historical Maps Online 
A collaboration between the UIUC Library and University of Illinois Press, this collection of digitized maps spans 400 years of Illinois and Northwest Territory history.

Historical Map Web Sites 
Hosted by the University of Texas Libraries, this is an extensive page of links to online map collections from around the world. Most of these collections feature digital reproductions of their maps.

Japanese Historical Maps: University of Califoria, Berkeley 
Contains around 2,300 searchable early maps of Japan and the world, some through David Rumsey (above).

Library of Congress: American Memory Map Collection
A collection of Americana and Cartographic Treasures from the Library of Congress: American Memory collection. Broken up into seven categories and searchable by keyword.

NOAA Historical Map and Chart Collection
The Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection is a rich archive of high-resolution images capturing a vast wealth of the U.S. government's historical surveying and mapping. The collection of over 35,000 scanned images - covering offshore and onshore sites - includes some of the Nation's earliest nautical charts, bathymetric maps, city plans, and Civil War battlefield maps.

Subject Guide

Undergraduate Library's picture
Undergraduate Library
Contact:
1402 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 333-3477
Website